It’s a Mystery to Me

The other day my coworker (the other Megan) and I were lamenting the sad state of the Teen Mystery Section. I have done a number of things in an attempt to increase the circulation of these books and nothing seems to be working. Hence, the mystery. I have moved the books to different shelves, I have done Mystery displays, I have turned the books face out, I have discarded ratty old books, I have purchased shiny new books, all to no avail. I find it so strange, especially since the adult readers around here devour mysteries.

I will admit that I have not always been a mystery reader (I believe that I have already confessed to being a scaredy cat), but my job requires me to read outside my comfort zone. Thank goodness for that, because I have discovered books that I would otherwise not have read. If you are not checking out Teen Mysteries, here is what you are missing:

The Agency Series by Y.S. Lee

A Spy in the House and The Body at the Tower feature orphan, felon, and spy Mary Quinn. Fans of historical fiction will love these mysteries set in Victorian London starring a non-white female heroine. How radical! These stories have it all-engaging mysteries, perfect settings, a feisty heroine, dapper young men, a hint of romance, a touch of humor, a secret past, and SPIES. What more can you ask for? *I was pleased to discover these where both checked out*

The Season by Sarah Maclean is another historical mystery. This Jane Austen-esque story features another headstrong young lady fighting against societal conventions while solving a murder mystery. History, mystery, romance and regency fashion all wrapped up in one pretty package just for you. *Some also beat you to this one, you’ll have to wait your turn. Keep reading for more ideas.*

Historical mysteries not your thing? How about sports mysteries? Best-selling sportswriter John Feinstein has written a number of sports-related mysteries starring  teen journalists Susan Carol and Stevie.

Whether it’s baseball, tennis, basketball, or football, there is mystery for every sports lover and they are ALL available, just waiting for you to come and get one (or two, or all of them…)

No historical or sports, you say? How about a paranormal mystery?

The Body Finder and Desires of the Dead by Kimberly Derting are two paranormal mysteries starring sixteen-year-old Violet who has the ability to sense murder victims and their killers. These mysteries are creepy and suspenseful, but they also have a touch of sweet romance. Aren’t the covers gorgeous? I definitely recommend these to readers who enjoy a touch of the supernatural.

Speaking of creepy, these mysteries totally gave me the heebie jeebies.

Admittedly, I have not read Nightmarys yet, but that’s only because our copy was AWOL for a bit. But now it’s back and I will be checking it out soon!

Stone Child and The Nightmarys by Dan Poblocki are definitely for all you horror fans out there! They are full of curses, demons, and other creatures that go bump in the night. You may need to leave the lights on after reading these (I know I did!)

Not convinced? Hope about a good, old-fashioned mystery without any gimmicks. No historical setting, no sports, no supernatural. We have those!

Shift by Jennifer Bradbury

Two guys go on a cross-country bike trip. Only one comes back. What happened out there on the road?

All Unquiet Things by Amanda Jarzab

After his ex-girlfriend’s death Neily teams up with her cousin to solve the murder.

The Uninvited by Tom Wynne-Jones

Mimi heads to her dad’s remote Canadian cottage to relax after a stressful freshman year in college. Upon her arrival she discovers a stranger living there. She also has a stalker. Could it be the stranger or someone else?

Now do you see why it is such a mystery that the Teen Mysteries just sit there looking so sad and lonely? Don’t these sound great? Don’t you want to read one of them (and check out some of the other awesome mysteries that are hanging around next to them)? Well, chop, chop, get to it!

Oh, and one last thing. I just ordered a new Teen Mystery series (not new to the world, new to me) starring a young Sherlock Holmes. Watch the shelves for The Boy Sherlock Holmes series by Shane Peacock, which include the titles Eye of the Crow, Death in the Air, Vanishing Girl, The Secret Fiend, and The Dragon Turn

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

One response to “It’s a Mystery to Me

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Sequels I Can’t Wait to Read | YA? Why Not?

Leave a Reply

