Mondays with Megan Blood Red Road Review

Hi everyone and Happy Monday. I had nice long weekend, which gave me time to:

1. Finish Blood Red Road by Moira Young (out in June, see review below)
2. See Hop with the nephews (stupid, don’t bother)
3. Do a major book purge (and yet, I still have 19 items checked out…)
4. Start The Dark and Hollow Places (barely into it, don’t say anything about it to me yet!)
5. Do a little painting in my bedroom while listening to a baseball game (good times, except the painting of course. That’s just a pain.)
6. Think about writing a March in Review post, but changing my mind (just check out my list of books 2011m style, that was my March.)

On to the review!

Blood Red Road by Moira Young
June 7, 2011

Saba, her twin brother Lugh, their little sister Emmi, and their father live in sandstorm-ravaged wasteland of Silverlake. It is a difficult life, but bearable as long as Lugh is by her side. Their lives change in an instant when four cloaked men arrive in a cloud of sand and kidnap Lugh. Devastated and alone, Saba vows to rescue her beloved brother. Saba’s journey takes her to the lawless city of Hopetown, where drug-addled citizens live in a world of violence and destruction. Here Saba becomes a fierce competitor as she fights for her life, earning the nickname Angel of Death. She also learns more about Lugh’s fate, meets the handsome thief Jack, and The Free Hawks, a band of revolutionaries. In a race against time, Saba and her new allies risk it all to rescue Lugh.

I received this book from the publisher quite some time ago. I was so excited to get an ARC that I started it right away…and got stuck. This book is written in dialect and I had trouble getting into it, but I am so glad that I picked it up again. Once I got used to the language the story grabbed me and I could not put the book down. Set in a time after the Wreckers (that would be us, I suspect), Blood Red Road is a violent and fast-paced dystopian novel by debut author Miora Young. The landscape is as stark and hostile as the characters who struggle to survive in the dusty wastelands. Like the language, Saba takes some getting used to. She is one tough character. She is strong, stubborn, headstrong, brave, and loyal-on paper a winning combination for a heroine. In reality, Saba is than just her admirable traits. Her strength makes her selfish and cold, she is headstrong and brave to the point of being reckless, and at times her loyalty ends at Lugh, making her difficult to like, but I did. She is flawed and frustrating, but her journey changes and even softens her in the end. The person she becomes is so much better than the person she was, thanks to Emmi and Jack. Unlike Saba, Jack is loveable from the start. He is handsome, cocky, and utterly irresistible, making him an immediate irritant to Saba. The romantic tension between the two is electrically charged and the source of much-needed comic relief. After all its ups and downs the story comes to a satisfying conclusion while leaving the door open for a sequel. I am so glad Miora Young is on my radar. She is certainly an author to watch. This will easily become a must-read for fans of The Hunger Games and Ship Breaker. I have ordered a copy for the library collection and it should be in the catalog soon. Thank you Lucille at Simon & Schuster for the sneak peek!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

9 responses to “Mondays with Megan Blood Red Road Review

  1. Pingback: Wither by Lauren DeStafano | YA? Why Not?

  2. Pingback: Mondays With Megan-2011 Debut Authors Reviews | YA? Why Not?

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Underrated and Underappreciated | YA? Why Not?

  4. Pingback: The Best of 2011 Honorable Mentions | YA? Why Not?

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday-Authors I Wish Would Write Another Book | YA? Why Not?

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday-My Fall 2012 TBR List | YA? Why Not?

  7. Pingback: MMondays With Megan: Goodies at My Door and What Are You Reading? | YA? Why Not?

  8. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Kick-Ass Heroines | YA? Why Not?

  9. Pingback: Rebel Heart by Moira Young Review | YA? Why Not?

Leave a Reply

