Top Ten Book Covers I Wish I Could Redesign

The clever folks over at The Broke and the Bookish have created the Top Ten Tuesday meme and I thought I would join them today. Today’s theme: Book Covers I Wish I Could Redesign. Here is my list of ten books that need new covers! Amazing stories, not so amazing cover.

1. Gone by Michael Grant
I LOVE these books and the covers really do not show readers how truly horror-ific they are.

2. Going Bovine by Libba Bray
Yes, the cover represents the story, but just doesn’t do anything for me. Kind of bland for the craziness that is inside.

3. Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan
I wonder what Tiny Cooper would say? My guess: BORING.

4. How to Say Goodbye in Robot by Natalie Staniford
Why pink? Seriously. This is a great book that might actually appeal to girls and guys, but no way your average male teen reader is going to be caught dead reading this pink book. Disappointing.

5. The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big, Round Things by Carolyn Mackler
No wonder girls have bad body image! This is a big, round butt? Not a fan.

6. Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz
I really enjoy this series and while the covers have improved, but this one doesn’t inspire a reaction greater than “meh.”

7. The Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan

I have not read this one myself, but I have heard good things about it. I love the note left by a recent teen reader. In case you are having trouble seeing it, the note says: “Ignore the ugly cover, it’s a great book!”

8. Deadly Little Secrets by Laurie Faria Stolarz
Again, boring stock photo. This cover tells me nothing about the book, which is actually pretty good.

9. The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan paperback cover
The original cover was so awesome (just like the story)! I really hate when they mess with a good thing. The Three covers in hardback match so well and they are lovely. Paperback, blah. Boring. And what is with the heavy makeup? Mary is way to busy kicking zombie butt to apply eyeshadow! (Psst…I hear the author prefers the original too.)

10. Wicked Girls by Stephanie Hemphill
No self-respecting Puritan girl would be walking about with their luscious mane of golden hair flowing about like this! Of course, the book is about some crazy Puritan girls, but that is beside the point. Not to mention that hair is way too clean for the time period! This book was amazing, but the cover certainly does not scream “Salem Witch Trials” to me!

This was a fun list to make, I hope you enjoyed it too. What books would you like to see get a cover face lift?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

2 responses to “Top Ten Book Covers I Wish I Could Redesign

  1. Wow. I have all of those books in my library and hadn’t really thought about any of those covers until now. Yeah, Going Bovine should not show a cow! High school kids are not attracted to farm animals. Good list.

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Judging Books by Their Covers and Titles | YA? Why Not?

Leave a Reply

