2011 Reading Challenges-Quarterly Update

Does anyone remember way-back-when in January when the new year was, well, new and I was full of optimism and determination so I joined a whole bunch of reading challenges? Well, I have been plugging away at my goals and according to Goodreads.com, I have read 70 out of 200 books, which makes me 6 books ahead of my goal. I thought that this would be a good time to take a closer look at my original goals and see if I need to make some adjustments. Here is my original post; it looks like I joined 5 challenges.

1. Audio Challenge: 200 hours

What was I thinking? 200 hours is child’s play! After only four months I have listened to 161. 5 hours worth of audiobooks. That’s a lot of driving and dog walking. If I keep up this pace I should be able to listen to over 640 hours worth of books this year. Of the 18 audiobooks I have listened to so far here are my top 5 favorites:
1. The Wake of the Lorelei Lee by L.A. Meyer, read by Katherine Kellgren
2. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot, read by Cassandra Campbell
3. Saving Cee Cee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman read by Jenna Lamia
4. A Red Herring Without Mustard by Alan Bradley read by Jayne Entwistle
5. Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green read by MacLeod Andrews and Nick Podehl

2. Graphic Novel Challenge: 10

The host of this challenge set 10 as the expert level. Well, I am an expert times two (almost). I have read 19 graphic novels so far this year. At this current pace I should be able to read almost 60 graphic novels this year. My favorites so far?

1. Dr. Horrible and Other Horrible Stories by Zack Whedon
2. The Bone series by Jeff Smith
3. Chi’s Sweet Home series by Konami Kanata
4. The Amulet by Kaza Kibuishi

5 Very Good Reasons to Punch a Dolphin in the Mouth (and other useful guides) by Michael Inman will surely be added to this list, but I haven’t finished it yet and I am a stickler for accurate record keeping…I also have the next Cirque du Freak manga at home waiting for me. I am looking forward to that one too.

3. Historical Fiction: 12 books

I don’t read a lot of historical fiction, but I am trying to change that. I committed to 1 historical fiction book a month and so far, I am right on track with this challenge. I have read 4 so far.  I have two new historical fiction books on my desk right now: Phantoms in the Snow by Kathleen Benner Duble and Threads and Flames by Esther Friesner. I should probably take at least one of them home. 

4. 2011 Debut Author Challenge: at least 27

Last year I read books by 27 debut authors, so I figured I would try to at least match that amount this year. So far I have read 6 2011 debut novels. At this rate, I will not make my goal. I need to step it up here and start reading some new authors! Of the six I have read, my favorites were Blood Red Road by Miora Young and Rival by Sara Bennett-Wealer. I am currently reading The Near Witch by Victoria Schwab (thanks NetGalley f0r the ARC and Carrie Ryan for the recommendation!)

5. Motivate Yourself to Read More on Goodreads.com: 200

I am ahead to the game! 70 books in fourth months-at this pace I should read 210 books in 2011 (keep in mind I count audiobooks as reading). Of these 70 here are my favorites:

1. Five Flavors of Dumb by Antony John
2. Red Glove by Holly Black
3. The Dark and Hollow Places by Carrie Ryan
4. Plague by Michael Grant
5. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
6. Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi
7. City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare
8. Heads You Lose by Lisa Lutz
9. The Icebound Land by John Flanagan
10. The Wake of the Lorelei Lee by L.A. Meyer

Ok, making an end of the year favorites list is going to be a nightmare (unless I only read terrible books from here on out, but that is not very likely to happen).

On an unrelated, but final note, I would like to thank everyone for reading this little blog. As of right now I am 94 views away from more views in the month of April than in all of 2010! This makes me happy. So, what do you think, 94 views in 3 days? Possible? I hope so.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

Leave a Reply

