Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’ve Lied About

Hi Everyone, it’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week we have been asked to ‘fess up and reveal to all the lies we have told about books we have read/not read, liked/disliked…and I am struggling. After reading other bloggers’ list I was happy to discover I am not alone. I am a librarian, I want people to read. I don’t care what it is, as long as you love it, keep on reading. I say be proud of the fact that you are reading. Say it loud and proud and don’t worry what others think. Twilight? Forget the haters, I devoured it! Harry Potter? For years the one thing I had in common with a brother 13 years younger than me! Shiver? The only book that I can think if that I truly and vehemently disliked and I will defend my position until the end (I read Linger and am anxiously awaiting Forever but still really can’t stand the series). So, after thinking long and hard, this is all I can offer:

1. Germinal by Émile Zola. I read this because a much smarter friend insisted that all well-read people should read Zola. I read it and it wasn’t horrible, but it was really not my cup of tea. I may have been a bit more enthusiastic about it than was actually the case…

2. Lord of the Rings by Tolkien. This trilogy has been on a few other “lied about” lists! I read them, before the movies, and enjoyed them. The lie-I never let on about what a struggle it was to read them! Truth time-they rank up there with Crime and Punishment as some of the hardest books I have read. BTW, I loved Crime and Punishment and that is no lie. Believe what you like.

3. Catcher in the Rye by Salinger. Never read it, never lied about reading it. I have at one time or another expressed regret over not reading, which is a big fat lie. I don’t care that I have never read it!

4. Anything by Jane Austen or Emily Brontë. I am pretty sure I read Wuthering Heights in high school. I might have even liked it, but the truth is, I have not read the works of these ladies. I don’t lie about that either, but I know enough about the plots and have seen enough of the movies that I can usually get away with appearing to know what I am talking about…lies of omission are lies just the same.

5. A Clockwork Orange by Burgess. I read this my freshman year in college, in a class that had I not been lazy about the AP English test, I never would have been in to begin with. I did not belong. I was actually smarter than most of the kids in the class (the one and only time in college). It felt good to be among the few who actually understood the book and got the point, so I pretended that I liked it more than I actually did, just because.

I really can’t think of anything else. I am off to think about next week’s list-Top Ten Beach Reads.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

5 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’ve Lied About

  1. I feel the way you do. Just because I don’t like a book especially doesn’t really mean anything…somebody out there will probably love it. It’s taste, not good books-bad books.

    Hope you’ll stop by my blog: Readerbuzz. Not much there this week, but maybe, if you browse a bit, you will find something else of interest. And I do have a great giveaway going on….

  2. I love LOTR but the first half (ish) of ‘Fellowship of the Ring’ was really tough for me. Once I got past it I found the rest of that book and the others much easier to read. Had I not been reading in a bit of a makeshift bookgroup (we were 11 and had just seen the first movie and decided to all read the series together) I might have given up, thankfully I perservered and really enjoyed them!

    New follower 🙂

  3. +JMJ+

    I count The Clockwork Orange, which I was introduced to in uni, as one of the best novels I’ve ever read. Perhaps we were classmates? 😉

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday-Authors I Wish Would Write Another Book | YA? Why Not?

Leave a Reply

