Top Ten Tuesday-Favorite Settings

Ok, post 2 of the day, Top Ten Tuesday, brought to you by the fine folks at The Broke and the Bookish

1. Ireland. Some day I will visit in person, but until then, I will travel there through books. Currently I have enjoyed the works of Tana French. The lower-class Irish neighborhood in Faithful Place is so richly described that it is practically a character itself.

2. Steampunk settings. I love the world building that goes into steampunk. Cassandra Clare creates an awesome Victorian-era setting in Clockwork Angel.

3. Leviathan. Speaking of steampunk, how cool is the giant, living airship in Scott Westerfeld’s new steampunk series?

4. Hogwarts. I don’t think this needs any explanation. It’s Hogwarts for goodness sake!

5. The American West/Frontier. I love Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House on the Prairie series! Despite the hardships, I always felt a little envious of her wild, adventurous life.

6. Islands.  There is something mysterious about islands. One of my favorite islands is Selkie Island in Sea Change by Aimee Freidman. It is steeped in legend, lore, and mystery. The island in Beauty Queens by Libba Bray is pretty bada$$ too!

7. Southern settings. I love the hot, lush setting of a southern town. Give me anything by Sarah Addison Allen-her southern settings are always full of magic. The same goes for the setting of Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl’s Beautiful Creatures series. Saving CeeCee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman is another book with a charming Southern setting.

8. Boarding Schools. Who doesn’t love a good boarding school story? Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins? *sigh* The Gallagher Academy for Awesome Spy Girls *ahem* Exceptional Young Ladies? Sign me up! Of course, the creepy boarding schools are pretty cool too. Firespell by Chloe Neill is a good example, as is the school in Shadow Hills by Anastasia Hopcus. And of course, I can’t forget one of my favorite boarding schools-The Lawson Peabody School for Young Girls from the Bloody Jack series by L.A. Meyer. I sometimes find myself practicing “The Look” when no one is watching.

9. Zombie USA. The world Carrie Ryan creates in her Forest of Hands and Teeth series is terrifying and haunting and absolutely perfect. Her description of New York City, post-zombie apocalypse, is chilling.

10. The open road. I love a good road trip story almost as much as I love a good boarding schools story. Most recently, I enjoyed Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson. Other great road trip stories include Going Bovine by Libba Bray, The Bean Trees by Barbara Kingsolver, and An Abundance of Katherine’s by John Green.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

Hello everyone! Megan has been so kind as to let me in on her post today as a guest speaker. My name is Cassie and I would like to share with you my all time favorite Top Ten Book Settings and in no particular order:

The Fire Swamp (The Princess Bride by William Goldman) While I am not particularly excited about ROUS’s (rodents of unusual size), the trees sound magnificent and sparkly. I would just like to take a picture of one and not build a summer home there.

Hartfield (Emma by Jane Austen) I absolutely love reading about regency England so therefore I loved the country setting in Emma.

Diagon Alley (Harry Potter Series by J.K Rowling) The book description of this magical setting was fantastic and I would love to buy my school books from there.

Fantasia (The Neverending Story by Michael Ende and Ralph Manheim) Who doesn’t want to ride a giant white dog through the sky?

Shadowland (Evermore by Allyson Noel) Manifesting objects out of thin air is awesome! You want a Porsche? Here you go!

Beyond the Barrier (The Dead Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan) Yes, I know this may sound a bit weird but I have my reasons. Living through a zombie apocalypse  is not my idea of a great time but the image of an old amusement park sounds terrifyingly beautiful.

Idris (City of Glass by Cassandra Clare) I would like to see a city made of glass. Can you imagine the sun shining off of it?

Cousins Beach (The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han) An entire summer spent at the beach. Enough said.

Tinos, Greece (Cruel Summer by Alyson Noel) Greece is on my list of places to travel. This book was such a tease.

England (Angus, Thongs, and Full Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison) Loved this book! It just seemed like these kids were having a ball and had the high life. I want this. And I lurve England. I will go there someday.

 I hope you enjoyed this daily double of a Top Ten!

3 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-Favorite Settings

  1. Both of you picked wonderful places. I feel so lucky that authors have such wonderful imaginations to dream up places like these (or to just set their novels in some of the already existing magical places) for us to read about.

  2. Wow. a Double Top Ten! I had a bunch of boarding schools on my original list but left them all off on my list. I want to read lots of books you’ve mentioned especially the new Libba Bray.

  3. I covered almost every place, I think!

    Here is my Top Ten post!

Leave a Reply

