The Summer Series by Jenny Han

Yeah! Its Friday, the oppressive heat wave seems to be taking a break, and I am rereading a favorite book for my teen book club meeting next week. Life is good. So good that I am ending the week with a triple quick review. In honor of summer vacation, I recommend you check out Jenny Han’s Summer series. If you are looking for a fun summer romance series, you will want to start with The Summer I Turned Pretty. Each book continues the story, so go in order! This will be brief and without spoilers. Here’s the scoop:

  

Isabel “Belly” Conklin lives for summer when she and her family head to Cousins Beach. Her mom’s best friend Susannah has beach house there that is like Belly’s second home. Conrad and Jeremiah are also there. These brothers have been a part of summer ever since her first one. They have been like her brothers, her crushes, her biggest tormentors and strongest allies. But, the summer she turned sixteen things began to change, and the love triangle begins.

Things seem to have fallen apart for Belly, Conrad and Jeremiah. Everyone is reeling from a devastating loss that threatens not only their relationships but their beloved Cousins Beach house.

The love triangle between Belly and the Fisher brothers is finally resolved!

This series is a bit of an emotional roller coaster. There is plenty of romantic drama, but it is not all fluff. Romance, heartbreak, and a gorgeous ocean view will sweep you off your and leave you needing to know how it all ends. Now that the final book in the series is out you won’t have to worry about cliffhanger endings.

Compared to some of the books out there this series is pretty tame. The romance is quite chaste. However, there is some teen drinking, the occasional curse word, and a death.

Readalikes: Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler, Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen, or Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles (this one is a bit steamier).

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

Advertisements

2 responses to “The Summer Series by Jenny Han

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Awww Moments | YA? Why Not?

  2. please make a 4th book 😦

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s