Mondays with Megan-I am a Zombie Uprising Survivor

That’s right, zombies were on the loose in Brooklyn, Ohio this Saturday and Stacey and I lived to tell the story. Here is yet another reason why libraries and librarians are so totally cool: Zombie Walks. The teen librarian at a local library hosted a Zombie Walk on Saturday, in which people of all ages transformed themselves into the living dead and walked, crawled, shuffled, and moaned their way down the street, past city hall, and through a park. We did not get into make up (this time, but when I host one of these bad boys, you better believe I will be zombiefied) but we followed along, cleverly staying downwind. I took some pictures, but a low battery is preventing me from sharing them today. What a fun way to spend a Saturday afternoon. I can’t wait to try one here in Rocky River!

Here in my own library I have an outdoor summer event planned too. Tomorrow I will be showing off our brand new cornhole boards (I need to read up on how to play). Please join us on the lawn (or auditorium if it rains) at 2pm. If you can’t make it tomorrow, don’t worry, we’ll be back out there in July and August.

Today I awarded the first summer reading basket! One lucky teen reader is taking home a basket of goodies and you could too. It’s so easy to do-sign up, read books, enter to win. So far we have 66 teens signed up, but I know we can do better than that! I would love to see that number up to 100 by the end of the week. This week’s basket has a bunch of books, a lava lamp, candy, and free Chipotle, among other things.

Ok, I just got a nice stack of new books to look at, so off I go! Welcome to Bordertown, edited by Holly Black and Ellen Kushner is at the top of the pile. Today also seems to be sequel day: The Saga of Larten Crepsley: Ocean of Blood by Darren Shan, Queen of the Dead by Stacey Kade, and The Royal Treatment by Lindsey Leavitt are all here, reminding me that I have not read any of the first books. Sigh.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

Leave a Reply

