Mondays with Megan: My Super Summer Reading Weekend

Happy Monday everyone! First, a little boasting. Last week I said I wanted to get 100 teens signed up for summer reading by the end of the week. Mission accomplished-I started today with 102! Even more exciting is the fact that more than half the teens signed up have already read books and filled out entry forms. In the first two weeks of summer 58 teens have read a combined total of 165 books. I know this is a little obsessive of me (can’t help it), but it certainly makes me proud to see all this reading going on.

Ok, maybe a little more boasting. Like my summer readers, I was like a reading machine this weekend. I finished The Battle for Skandia (The Ranger’s Apprentice #4) by John Flanagan, I read Don’t Stop Now by Julie Halpern, and I got about 3/4 of the way through Forgotten by Cat Patrick. I am also minutes away from finishing the audio version of Bossypants by Tina Fey (with Two For the Dough by Janet Evanovich ready and waiting). I will work on reviews to post later (hopefully this week) but in 10 words or less, this is what I think:

The Battle for Skandia: Loved. The series keeps getting better and better.
Don’t Stop Now: Quick and engaging read, but not my favorite by this author.
Forgotten: WOW! Awesome debut.
Bossypants: Tina Fey sure is funny.

I think my next book will be Revenge of the Witch, the first book in the Last Apprentice series by Joseph Delaney. It appears they are making it into a movie. The movie title will be The Seventh Son and it is currently in pre-production (whatever that means). There is a writer and a director and Jeff Bridges and Julianna Moore seem to be connected to the project. After further digging around, I discovered that the movie has been under option with Warner Brothers for years. Maybe 2013 will finally be the year? Well, I for one, want to be ready for it! Book 1 of 9, here I come.

What are you all reading this summer?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

Leave a Reply

