Top Ten Tuesdays-Rebels in Literature

 

It’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday list, hosted by the bloggers at The Broke and The Bookish. This week we are honoring rebels in literature. The lists can contain both characters and authors. My list is all characters-my long holiday weekend left me sleepy and sluggish rather than rested and revitalized. I am in no condition to think hard about the list. Luckily I have plenty of rebels in mind. So, here they are, my favorite characters who stood up for what they believed in,went against the grain, or defied authority for the greater good. Rebels.

1. Jacky Faber. She is my all time favorite heroine and rebel. Star of the Bloody Jack series by L.A. Meyer, Jacky Faber is a pirate, sailor, con artist, and a girl.

2. Katniss Everdeen. In truth, The Hunger Games is full of rebels. Katniss is the star, but characters like Cinna and Rue also deserve a shout out.

3. Halt. The Ranger from The Ranger’s Apprentice series defies the King and sacrifices his station in order to save Will.

4. Katarina Bishop. Thief, con artist, and master of disguise, Kat just wants out of the family business-art theft. Check out her rebellion in Heist Society and Uncommon Criminals by Ally Carter.

5. Tally and David from The Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld are another of my favorite rebels. In a society when everyone is ugly until they have their pretty surgery, some people refuse to be surgically changed. These people threaten order and control and the government is looking for them.

6. Harry Potter. This series is full of rebels! Hermione is a champion for elves rights, the entire Order of the Phoenix, Snape, Dumbledor, Neville Longbottom…the list goes on.

7. Frankie Landau-Banks. The title character from the book The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks is quite a rebel. Mischief and mayhem reign when this young feminist takes on the “good old boys” at her boarding school. This book is awesome and Frankie is quite the evil genius.

8. Beatrice Prior, aka, Tris rebels against societal expectations in Divergent by Veronica Roth. Tris defies her upbringing and chooses a path that she believes is right for her, despite the hardship and danger.

9. Calpurnia Tate. In The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate, the title character is an 11-year old girl living at the turn of the century. She struggles to find a balance between what is expected of her as a girl and what she truly desires in life-to be a scientist. This story is sweet and charming, I highly recommend picking it up.

10. Atticus Finch. I read a lot of classics in high school (which was kind of a long time ago…) but Atticus Finch from To Kill a Mockingbird is one of the few characters that really stuck with me. I love what he says about courage: “I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It’s when you know you’re licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what. You rarely win, but sometimes you do.”

That does it for me. Check back next week for my Top Ten Authors I would DIE to meet (living or dead). That will be a fun list!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

3 responses to “Top Ten Tuesdays-Rebels in Literature

  1. Hey, I had Frankie L-B, too. I love that gal. Good call on Jacky Faber. I didn’t even think of her, but rebel she is.

  2. Hah, you’re right! Everybody in Harry Potter are rebels! Hard to just pick one! 🙂

  3. Great list – I had to put pretty much all the characters from HP on my list lol – so many rebels!

Leave a Reply

