Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I Would Love to Meet

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              

As always, thanks to the awesome bloggers at The Broke and The Bookish for hosting Top Ten Tuesday. This week’s topic is authors I would love to meet. The list allows for author both living and dead, but I would like to be optimistic so my list includes only the living-I have a much better chance of actually meeting them! I have already been quite fortunate to meet many YA authors, including Michael Grant (Gone), Scott Westerfeld (Uglies), Carrie Ryan (Forest of Hands and Teeth), Alyson Noël (Immortals), Kami Garcia (Caster Chronicles), Margaret Stohls (Caster Chronicles), Margaret Peterson Haddix (Among the Hidden), Saundra Mitchell (The Vespertine), and Kristina McBride (The Tension of Opposites). Lucky me! Now if only I could meet:

1. Rick Riordan, author of  the beloved Percy Jackson series. Need I say more? It’s Rick Riordan!

2. L.A. Meyer, author of The Bloody Jack series. This man is a bit of a mystery. He seems to live a quite (and very cool) life. He’s an artist, a teacher, and Navy man. He owns an art gallery in Bar Harbor, Maine with his wife. Sounds beautiful and peaceful to me. I’ll bet he would be interesting to hang out with and I suspect he is quite funny!

3. Ally Carter, author of The Gallagher Girls and Heist Society series. This woman knows way to much about espionage and art theft. She must be some sort of evil genius and I would love to meet her. Again, I suspect she also has a wicked sense of humor.

4. Rachel Hawkins, author of Hex Hall and Demonglass. Dream line-up: Rachel Hawkins, Kiersten White, and Rosemary Clement-Moore all talking about writing paranormal romance in the post-Twilight era. These women, in my opinion, have nailed it! (Do you like how I snuck an extra author in there?)

5. Kiersten White, author of Paranormalcy and Supernaturally. I follow Kiersten’s blog and Facebook posts and she is hilarious. I want to be her friend, but I would settle for meeting her and getting an autograph.

6. Lisa Lutz, author of The Spellman’s series. While most of what I read is YA,  I have some favorite adult writers. Lisa Lutz is on the top of that list. Her books are witty, clever, and totally absurd. Love.

7. Alan Bradley, author of the Flavia de Luce series. I am enamored by these charming mysteries starring the precocious 11-year old sleuth, Flavia. I would love to meet her creator, a retired electrical engineer and Sherlock Holmes expert.

8. Sarah Addison Allen, author of Garden Spells, Sugar Queen, The Girl Who Chased the Moon, and The Peach Keeper. I love her books and admire the fact that she has shared a very private aspect of her life with her fans-her battle against breast cancer. I would love to meet this strong, talented woman.

9. Libba Bray, author of the Gemma Doyle series, Going Bovine, and Beauty Queens. Back to YA. Libba Bray kind of writes all over the place-Victorian fantasy, modern retellings of Don Quixote, and her highly satirical account of beauty queens trapped on an island. Where does she come up with this stuff? Inquiring minds want to know. And again, I bet she is hilarious.

10. The number ten spot goes to any number of authors that I would put in the ” It Goes Without Saying” category. You know, Cassandra Clare, J.K. Rowling, Suzanne Collins…Sure I’d like to meet them, but I feel like they are just too famous. Out of my league. Tee hee.

Well, that’s my list. Looking over it I notice two things. First, it’s mostly women and second, I imagine most of these people to be hilarious. What can I say? These women rock and I love a good laugh!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

2 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I Would Love to Meet

  1. Libba Bray. Drats, I meant to have her on my list and then I forgot. Did you know that Alan Bradley was over 70 years old when he wrote the Flavia du Luce series, his first novels. It’s never too late….

  2. I’d definitely have Rick Riordan on my list, except that I have already met him…three different times! He is fabulous!

    Here’s my Top Twenty-Seven Authors I’d Love to Meet (Sorry, I Couldn’t Stop at Ten). I hope you will stop by. Also, don’t forget to enter my July Giveaway.

Leave a Reply

