Top Ten Tuesday-Books That Tackle Tough Issues

 

It’s Top Ten Tuesday, the day I get to indulge in fun list-making, thanks to the bloggers at The Broke and The Bookish. This week we lucky listmakers will share our favorite books that address tough issues. I apologize in advance for not expounding on my choices, but the bandages on my hand and thumb make typing annoying and frustrating. So, here’s my list:

1.    

Shine by Lauren Myracle is a powerful novel about hate crimes against homosexuals, drug addiction, poverty, and sexual assault

 

 

 

2.

The Marbury Lens by Andrew Smith is a haunting account of post-traumatic stress syndrome following a kidnapping and attempted rape.

 

 

3.

Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers is all about the mean girls. This book is about cliques, bullying, sexual assault and revenge.

 

4.

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson is a heartfelt novel about loss and grief. This book goes well with Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler and If I Stay by Gayle Forman

 

 

5. 

Dirty Little Secrets by C.J. Omololu is about mental illness and it’s impact on a family. The illness? Hoarding. If you are interested/intrigued/terrified/horrified by all the hoarding reality-type shows on tv, you won’t want to miss this book.

 

6.

Rules of Survival by Nancy Werlin is a heartbreaking look at mental illness, neglect, and child abuse.

 

 

7.

Beauty Queens by Libba Bray is the ultimate issues book, it’s chock full of them! And it’s hilarious.

 

 

 

8.

Monster by Walter Dean Myers examines racism and youth violence.

 

 

 

9.

Flash Burnout by K.L. Madigan looks at sex from a male point of view. Issues of friendship, loss and drug abuse are also addressed.

 

 

 

10.

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie is another book that uses humor to discuss tough issues such as poverty, racism, and alcoholism.

 

 

And there you have it, some of my favorite issues books. I am kind of pleased with myself for using books other than Speak, Thirteen Reasons Why, and The Hate List, which are all very amazing issue books too! 

Happy Reading (or should I say, Go grab a tissue?)

˜Megan

8 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-Books That Tackle Tough Issues

  1. I must read Shine. It sounds very good. Many of the other books on your list are also on mine.

    Please visit my blog and sign-up for my first ever giveaway!

    Anne

    http://headfullofbooks.blogspot.com

  2. Interesting picks. I never would have thought of Beauty Queens but it does make sense. Here are my picks:

    http://deadtreesandsilverscreens.blogspot.com/2011/07/top-ten-tuesdays-july-26.html

  3. This is probably one of the most diverse lists I’ve come across today. What amazing choices! Dirty Little Secrets is the perfect example of a “tough” issue that most people don’t think applies to teens.

    Here’s my list: http://bit.ly/qJiozA

  4. Great list! Shine made ours as well and several of your others were books we considered putting on our list.

    Reading Lark’s Top 10

  5. Erin @ Let's Evaluate

    Great list! I cannot wait to read Beauty Queens soon, I think it is going to be much more than meets the eye. [:

    Erin @ Let’s Evaluate

  6. Dirty Little Secrets sounds interesting! Will have to put that on my list…
    Hah, I’ve bought Beauty Queens but haven’t started it yet.. heard it’s great 🙂

  7. I haven’t heard of these but they sound great.
    Thanks for stopping by my Top Ten.

Leave a Reply

