In Which I Try to Write Reviews Instead of Wasting Time Thinking About Project Runway

Seriously. It’s a problem. Another problem that I have right now is a giant list of books that I have read, but have not reviewed. Not a word about them. So, time to stop being lazy and do some writing! 

The Sorcerer of the North, Ranger’s Apprentice #5 by John Flanagan 

Will is now a full-fledged Ranger assigned to the sleepy fief of Sea Cliff. He is not there long before an old friend arrives with a new assignment. There is trouble up North. Lord Syron of Macindaw Castle has fallen ill and people are blaming an evil sorcerer. Will must shed his Ranger cloak and go undercover to discover the source of the trouble.

As I have mentioned before, I love Halt, so I was sad to see that he played only a minor role in this book. It makes sense though, since Will is finally on his own.  The story does not disappoint; it is full of danger, action, and adventure. Once again Flanagan manages to write a morality tale without preaching. This book addresses issues of popularity, appearances, and the dangers of judging others based on appearances. The cliffhanger ending will have readers racing out for the next installment, The Siege of Macindaw. 5 stars!

Desires of the Dead (The Body Finder #2) by Kimberly Derting

Violet can sense the echoes of those who have been murdered. She tries to keep this ability a secret, but when the FBI starts snooping her entire way of life is threatened. Normally she would turn to her best friend Jay, but since they started dating she has found it difficult to confide in him. While her ability is no secret from Jay, the FBI and a stalker are. Keeping secrets can be a dangerous business for Violet.

I was so disappointed with this sequel that I probably will not read anymore in the series. In the first book Violet was such a strong, confident character and her relationship with Jay was sweet. She has a strong support network and she uses it. In this book she is a totally different person and I didn’t like her. She is whiny, insecure, and secretive. I also found myself hating Chelsea, Violet’s best friend. This girl is a bully and everyone is ok with that. Blah. Frustrating, disappointing read.

Where She Went by Gayle Forman, sequel to If I Stay *SPOILERS*

It’s been three years since the accident. Mia is a rising star at Julliard and Adam is an award-winning rock star. Chance brings the couple together again for the first time in years. As they explore New York City they reconnect, reopen old wounds, and come to understand each other better.

I LOVED this book! It is heartbreaking and hopeful, the perfect sequel to If I Stay. The writing is beautiful-raw, powerful, real. Emotions run high because Adam is so damaged, hurt, and desperate for answers. How does the one night for Mia and Adam turn out? I’ll never tell. Read it yourself.

Ok, that’s all I have in me for now. I promise to keep plugging away at these reviews.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

5 responses to “In Which I Try to Write Reviews Instead of Wasting Time Thinking About Project Runway

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Book Endings That Left My Mouth Hanging Open. | YA? Why Not?

  2. Pingback: The Siege of Macindaw, The Ranger’s Apprentice #6 Review | YA? Why Not?

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Best of 2011 | YA? Why Not?

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday-Authors I Wish Would Write Another Book | YA? Why Not?

  5. Pingback: Mondays With Megan Teens’ Top Ten 2012 Winners and More! | YA? Why Not?

Leave a Reply

