Top Ten Tuesday: Trends Edition

                                                                                                                                                                           

Here is another great topic for a Top Ten list, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week bloggers are sounding off on book trends. I am imagining a What’s Hot (keep ’em comin’, give us more) vs What’s Not (Enough already, please stop). At least, that’s my plan.

More Please:

1. Mash-ups. I love when a book has a little bit of everything. Mash-ups may not be an official term, but I think it works. My favorite combo is humor and action. My favorite most recent books that fall into this category: Paranormalcy and Supernaturally by Kiersten White, The Magnificent 12 by Michael Grant, Texas Gothic by Rosemary Clement-Moore, and The Ranger’s Apprentice series by John Flanagan.

2. Steampunk. I have fallen behind in my steampunk reading, but I love the blend of historical/Victorian era alternate-reality, machines, gears, and action. More mash-ups! My favorites: Leviathan and Behemoth by Scott Westerfeld, The Hunchback Assignments series by Arthur Slade, and The Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare.

3. Hunger Games Readalikes. I love this trend. It’s like Harry Potter for the slightly older crowd, it’s like Twilight for both guys and girls. The Hunger Games has grabbed the attention of the masses and left them craving more. My favorite readalikes? Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi, Blood Red Road by Miora Young, and Divergent by Veronica Roth

4. Light But Not Fluffy. Again, I like a little variety in my books. I want a light read that isn’t saccharine sweet. I want there to be a little meat to it, some character growth, moral dilemma, a crisis to overcome. But not too much-it’s supposed to be a fun, light read. Perfect examples of this type of book are Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins, Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson, and Don’t Stop Now by Julie Halpern

5. Audiobooks.  Audiobooks are nothing new, but currently there seems to be a real push in favor of listening to your favorite book. I love this! I love listening to a book in my car or on a walk with the dog. My absolute all-time favorite audiobooks are the Bloody Jack series by L.A. Meyer. I also really enjoyed The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak, The Flavia de Luce series by Alan Bradley and Going Bovine by Libba Bray. It’s hard to pick favorites when I have enjoyed so many wonderful audiobooks in the past two years, but these stand out in my mind.

6. Retellings. What started with Percy Jackson has turned into a full-fledged trend and is no longer exclusively Greek mythology. Retellings are popping up everywhere and they are so much fun! Rick Riordan continues to rework Greek mythology in his spin-off series, but he has also branched out into the world of Egyptian mythology with his Kane Chronicles series. Meg Cabot, Aimee Carter, and Josephine Angelini have all offered Greek retellings this year. Wendy Delsol works Nordic mythology into her delightful book, Stork. Vivian Vande Velde offers eight retelling of Red Riding hood in Cloaked in Read, and Alex Flinn’s Beastly, a retelling of Beauty and the Beast was recently turned into a movie. I say, keep those retelling coming, because I love them.

7. Adults Reading YA. I love this trend! I love that my sisters and friends will read YA with me. I love it when an adult patron proudly declares that they loved Twilight and need another book like it. I love when parents and grandparents read things before or with their teens. YA has so much to offer and I say, the more the merrier, let’s all read YA!

On The Fence

8. Co-written books. I am still on the fence about co-written books, especially one’s with alternating chapters/voices. In fairness, I have not read too many books like this, but the ones I have read have been a mixed bag. I loved Heads You Lose by Lisa Lutz and David Hayward, and Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan.  While I enjoyed Notes from the Blender by Brendan Halpin and Trish Cook, I found Jenna and Jonah’s Fauxmance by Brendan Halpin and Emily Franklin lacking. I guess it just depends on the pairing.

9. Mermaids. There is a whole slew of mermaid books coming out. I haven’t read any yet, so as far as I know, they could be the next big thing. I really must check this out.

Enough Already 

10. Vampires and werewolves. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want vampires to go away entirely, but I need a break. I never could get down with werewolves, but everyone else needs to stop trying to make them the new vampires. Not happening. Zombies are the new vampires. I swear, it’s true. Right now my favorite vampires are the Drakes from Alyxandra Harvey’s series The Drake Chronicles. I also enjoy Nathaniel Cade from Christopher Farnsworth’s The President’s Vampire series (not YA). Other than that, I am steering clear of the fangs for now.

That’s all for me. I am off to read some other top ten trends lists to see what I might have missed.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

7 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Trends Edition

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog!

    I love your list- you mention so many books that I loved, as well as a bunch of books I haven’t read yet. I need to get to Blood Red Road and Don’t Stop Now.

  2. You are the second person to mention steampunk which I have never heard of…I guess I will need to check it out. 🙂 I would also like more books like Hunger Games–strong characters and engaging plot which a little prodding in the thinking dept.

  3. I’ve also gotten really into the steampunk thing. Give me more! I don’t think I’ll ever get sick of vampires and werewolves, but it would be nice if someone did something interesting and different for a change. 🙂

  4. I agree with most of what you wrote, and you came up with a few I hadn’t even thought of!

    Here’s mine:
    http://abookandashortlatte.wordpress.com/2011/08/02/top-ten-tuesday-3/

  5. Yes to more light but not fluffy reads and adults reading YA! (I’m an adult reading YA, at least, I think I classify as an adult 😉 ) And you’re right, there’s and overkill on vampires and werewolves lately, slightly less would be much appreciated.

  6. Adults reading YA!! Hell to the YES! 🙂

  7. Pingback: Mondays With Megan: My Week of Ghost Stories | YA? Why Not?

Leave a Reply

