In Which I Discover Comic Books Just in Time for the Big D.C. Comic Reboot

D.C. Comics is making a historic and bold move by rebooting 52 of its superheroes beginning August 31 with The Justice League.

Here’s the original JLA crew.

 

 

 

 

The Justice League Rebooted. So sleek and shiny! And younger looking. I can’t wait to check out the new Aquaman.

 

 

 

What does this reboot mean for readers? It means that Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, Green Lantern, Aquaman, and the Flash will be reunited and redrawn to make them more accessible to modern readers. Their new storylines will remain true to the original legends while reflecting more current, real-world events. The reboot also means that readers can access new books digitally on the same day the print copies arrive in comic shops.

Ok, so the reboot is old news, as are comic books in general, but for me this is all new and exciting. I have to thank Carol and John from Carol and John’s Comic Book Shop in Cleveland, Ohio for getting me excited about comic books. These guys are so knowledgeable and passionate about their products that it’s no wonder they are the #1 comic shop in Cleveland. Their excitement is infectious and I left the shop anxious to reboot my library’s comic book collection. Starting August 1st we will carry many of the rebooted titles (there is not space or money for all 52, but John helped me pick the best ones) and I will be adding some new non-superhero titles as well. I personally am looking forward to getting reacquainted with the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles!

Be sure to check out Carol and John’s shop either in person or online. I know I will be stopping in again. I’ll tell myself it’s to find things for my nephews, but really it will be for me!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

2 responses to “In Which I Discover Comic Books Just in Time for the Big D.C. Comic Reboot

  1. I too just got into comic books. I’m excited that DC is revamping their line so I can get in without feeling totally overwhelmed. Very cool!!

  2. Pingback: My Comic Collection Gets a Reboot | YA? Why Not?

Leave a Reply

