Top Ten Tuesday: Underrated and Underappreciated

Hi everyone, sorry I missed you yesterday. I haven’t missed a Mondays with Megan in a while, but it was just too busy at the library to get a post done. It’s time to get back on track with a Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by the bloggers over at The Broke and the Bookish. As usual, thanks for this little bit of list making heaven. This week bloggers are getting the opportunity to send great big shout-outs to their favorite underappreciated books. So they may not be material for the next big blockbuster movie starring the hottest teenaged/twenty-something starlets, but these books are awesome and deserve some love. So, how about giving them a chance? Check one out; you won’t regret it.

1.

 Stork by Wendy Delsol is the story of Kat, a teenaged girl transplanted from sunny California to snowy Minnesota in the wake of her parents’ divorce. Adjusting is difficult enough without learning that she is part of a top-secret group called the Icelandic Stork Society responsible for placing unborn souls. Full of mythology, mystery, and romance, this sweet book is a gem. I can’t wait for Frost!

2.                                               

Five Flavors of Dumb by Antony John is on my list despite winning the Schneider Family Teen Book Award 2011. I swear I gush when I talk about this book about a deaf teen managing her high school rock band. Love.

 

3.

Gone series by Michael Grant. Every teenaged guy who likes action, horror and science fiction should be reading this series. It’s dark and creepy and at times down-right disgusting. One day everyone over the age of 15 disappears, leaving the younger kids to fend for themselves. To make matters worse some of the kids have developed super powers. It’s so cool.

4.

Bloody Jack series by L.A. Meyer is one of my all-time favorite series. Anyone who has ever read this blog should know that I mention Bloody Jack and Jacky Faber all the time. I am not even sorry about that. This is my kind of historical fiction. Mary “Jacky” Faber is an orphan in who escapes the streets of London by disguising herself as a boy and getting a job on a Royal Navy ship. This is an ALA Best Book 2004 and the audio have won awards as well (they are out of this world!), but this series doesn’t seem to sell itself. I have been pushing it at my library and now it is rarely on the shelf.

5.  

Blood Red Road by Miora Young. This may be too new to be called underrated, but I am including it because it is a fantastic Hunger Games readalike and only 1 person is on hold for it at my library.  Please read it so it can be properly appreciated.

 

6.

The Drake Chronicles by Alyxandra Harvey is the most underrated teen vampire series out there today (in my humble opinion). Oh my goodness, it is so wonderful! Sassy smart girls, smokin’ vampire brothers, vampire politics. *Sigh* I am desperate for the next one. Even if you think you are tired of vampires I encourage you to try this series.

7.

Brightly Woven by Alexandra Bracken is a beautifully written fantasy with a head-strong heroine on a dangerous quest in the company of a hot wizard.

 

 

8. 

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson is one of my favorite tear-jerkers. It’s sad and beautiful and hopeful all at once. I loved it (can you tell it’s getting late? My descriptions keep getting shorter and shorter. Number 10 may just say “Great book. Go read.”)

 

9.

The Hunchback Assignments by Arthur Slade stars a shape-shifting, hunchbacked, spy named Modo living in Victorian London. Think secret societies, evil scientists and clockwork monsters-fantastic steampunk! (Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld is another underrated steampunk gem)

 

10.

The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson is a great book. Go read. Just kidding…no, actually, I am tired. Bioethics, medical engineering, mystery…good stuff.

 

 

That’s all from me today. I hope you enjoy some of these underdogs.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

7 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Underrated and Underappreciated

  1. Great list. I’ll have to add these to my To Reads. Obviously I loved The Sky is Everywhere. The Five Flavors of Dumb was fantastic too!

  2. I want to read Stork but they don’t have it at my library! Looks awesome. Thanks for coming by my blog.

  3. Yes, the Sky is Everywhere. It was painfully beautiful. And I’ve been wanting to read Five Flavors of Dumb.

  4. I really like your list. I agree about Bloody Jack and The Sky is Everywhere. I want to read The Five Flavors of Dumb. It is the last book on my personal challenge, so I will get to it.

    Anne
    My Head is Full of Books

  5. Have you read the sequel to Jenna Fox yet? I’m really looking forward to it because the first one was SUCH a different story.

    Check out my Top 10.

  6. Thanks for continuing to give DUMB a push, Megan. I can’t say how much it means to hear a librarian say they like it — you read a whole lot of books, after all!

  7. Five Flavors of Dumb! I just read that recently, love it as well :)ANd I can sing praises for Blood Red Road allll day, that book was so fantastic, and TSIE easily made my best-of-2010 list. awesome picks!

Leave a Reply

