Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday it a weekly meme hosted by the clever bloggers over at The Broke and The Bookish. I found this week challenging because it is a Freebie, meaning not only did I have to create the list, but I had to come up with the topic as well. After many half-finished lists and half-baked ideas, I finally settle on my topic: Graphic Novels. I have been making an effort to read more graphic novels and manga and have found some titles that I really enjoy. Here are my favorites:

1.

The Big Book of Barry Ween, Boy Genius by Judd Winick is wickedly and ridiculously funny. All 12 of the potty-mouthed 10-year-old genius’ adventures are compiled into one enormous volume. Time warps, intelligent apes, the FBI, and turning his best friend into a dinosaur are just par for the course for Barry. The illustrations and dialog are laugh out loud hilarious. Barry Ween is Calvin from Calvin and Hobbes for the next generation.

2.

Cirque du Freak: The Manga by Darren Shan is one of my favorite series so far. I will admit that I have a hard time getting into manga, so this hybrid series is perfect for me. The story of young Darren Shan and his transformation from average boy to vampire is brought to life in traditional Japanese style. I also like being able to read this 12 book series in a matter of hours.

3.

I just reviewed Page by Paige by Laura Lee Gullidge here. This autobiographical book is charming and inspirational.

 

 

 

4.

The Bone series by Jeff Smith was a recommended to me by a couple of coworkers and I finally got around to it this year. I found the series to be charming, humorous, and full of adventure.

 

 

5.

Chi’s Sweet Home by Kanata Konami is an adorable all-ages series starring Chi, a precocious orphaned kitten who is adopted by a family. Each volume is packed with new adventures as Chi tries to learn the ways of the world. It takes a pretty darling cat to win the heart of this non-cat person!

 

6.

Axe Cop is a collaboration between Ethan Nicolle and his five-year old brother Malachai. Young Malachai is the mastermind behind this bizarre, yet hilarious, superhero adventure starring Axe Cop.

 

 

7.

Speaking of strange and hilarious, here’s another that fits the bill: 5 Very Good Reasons to Punch a Dolphin in the Mouth (and Other Useful Guides) by Matthew Inman. What started as a web comic has now been compiled and published for all you book lovers. Be sure to check out more at theoatmeal.com.

8.

Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog was created during the Writers Guild of America strike of 2007-2008 by brothers Josh and Zack Whedon. The musical starred Neil Patrick Harris as Dr. Horrible (I confess that this was my sole motivation for watching the movie). Tie-in comic books were created by Dark Horse. Dr. Horrible and Other Horrible Stories is a compilation of those comics. Again, hilarious.

9.

The Plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci is one of the first YA graphic novels that I ever read. This is the story of four girls named Jane who secretly start a street art rebellion. Their projects they do are so cool it makes me wish I was that creative. This book is all about girl power and is a perfect companion to Page by Paige.

10.

The Magical Life of Long Tack Sam is a combination biography and memoir. Artist and filmmaker Ann Marie Fleming writes about her journey to learn more about her great-grandfather, one of the greatest vaudeville performers in history. I struggle with reading nonfiction, but the graphic format really brought the story to life for me.

 

That’s all for this week. Happy Reading!

˜Megan

3 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. My husband and I love Dr. Horrible. We are huge fans of the movie, soundtrack and the comic. The Guild comics are good too.

    http://deadtreesandsilverscreens.blogspot.com/2011/08/top-ten-tuesdays-aug-16th.html

  2. Wow, I think I’ve only heard of one of these books! I’m so glad you posted this list; it’s always great to find new reads 🙂

    If you’re interested, here’s my Top Ten Tuesday Post. I’m also hosting my VERY FIRST giveaway and would be delighted if you checked it out!

  3. Ahem… Joss Whedon… 🙂

Leave a Reply

