Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Feel Everyone But Me Has Read

Yay! It’s Top Ten Tuesday again! I have the folks over at The Broke and The Bookish to thank for this weekly bit of list-making fun. This week it’s true confession time (sheepishly shuffles feet). That’s right, here is a list of books that just about everyone else has read but I have not. I have divided my list into two parts-books I am A-OK about not reading and probably never will and books that I really want to read or feel I should read.

Part 1: Haven’t read and feel just fine about it

1. Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger. Bleh.

2. The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo series by Stieg Larsson. Not for me.

3. Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert. No thanks.

4. The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman. Sigh.

5. Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris. True Blood is enough Sookie for me, though I understand the show is nothing like the books.

Part 2: Haven’t read, but really should/will try to read/on my TBR list…

6. Eragon by Christopher Paolini. If only I could get my hands on a copy. They are never on the shelf at my library (the librarian side of me loves that, so I will patiently wait…)

7. The Alchemyst (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series) by Michael Scott. These books are really popular with my teens right now!

8. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. There are a surprising number of classics that I have not read and I am generally okay with that, but this one shames me. I was named for a character for goodness sakes! Maybe I’ll read this when I am done with Emma

Ok, I lied. There is a Part 3 to this list.

Books I am on the fence about:

9. The Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. I have heard great things, but I am off the vamps for a while. Maybe someday.

10. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. I feel like I should read it, but I might be okay with skipping it. But maybe I should? See? On the fence.

That’s all for me today (I am mentally preparing for my vacation).

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

5 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Feel Everyone But Me Has Read

  1. Ooh, Ender’s Game. I forgot about that one, or I would’ve added it to my list. Everyone does go on and on — even other novelists who were inspired by it. Re: Eragon, I have friends who poisoned the well for me by claiming Eragon was nearly identical to some other fantasy series, so I skipped it altogether. And ITA that Sookie is just fine on HBO; I don’t need to read that series.

  2. You should read the Va series. 🙂 My favorite..

  3. Definitely try reading Eragon. Some people are very meh about it, but I loved the Inheritance cycle. 🙂

  4. Definitely try Eragon and VA – 2 of my favorite series 🙂

  5. Here is my 2 cents — Ender’s Game – definitely read. One of my favorite books of all time. I reread it at least once every couple of years. Vampire Academy – good read – I gave it to many of my friends and they liked it, so I would give it a go. Eragon — ummm, not one of my favorites. It’s like HP and LOTR wrapped up in one book, but with more dragons. Felt like it had already been done.

Leave a Reply

