Top Ten Book Endings That Left My Mouth Hanging Open.

  

It’s Top Ten Tuesday! Thanks to the clever bloggers at The Broke and The Bookish for hosting this weekly bit of list making joy. This week we are talking about books that ended with some kind of shocker-cliffhanger ending, mind-blowingly awesome ending, and in the case of a couple on my list, totally stinker ending.

1.

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare. Cassie Clare is the Queen of Cliffhangers!

 

 

 

2.

Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins ended in such a way that I was desperate for Demonglass.  Demonglass ended in such a way that I am desperate for Spell Bound. You get the idea.

 

 

3.

The Sorcerer of the North by John Flanagan is the fifth book in The Ranger’s Apprentice. Each book has been excellent, leaving me wanting the next installment, but this one had such a cliffhanger that I raced out for the next one immediately! I love this series and I am impatiently waiting my turn for book 7.

4.

Where She Went by Gayle Forman is the follow-up to If I Stay. This falls into the mind-blowingly amazing.

 

 

 

5.

Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane left me catchin’ flies because I did not see that coming!

 

 

 

6.

Ally Carter always leaves me wanting more tough-girl action, whether it’s her Gallagher Girls series or Heist Society. Cammie and Kat are awesome.

 

 

 

7.

Rick Riordan, you are genius. I can’t wait to get my greedy little hands on Son of Neptune (today? Please? fingers crossed!). *Update* I took a little break mid-post for a snack and discovered that I did get a copy today! I am so lucky.

 

 

8.

Michael Grant is an evil genius. Actually, I have met him and he is perfectly charming and quite hilarious. But his books leave you with the impression that he is a madman-the good kind. The Gone series is like crack for a book junkie. More, more, more. Please.

 

 

The final two slots on this list are reserved for books that left me with my mouth open in a “What the heck?” kind of way. Because I could not believe I had wasted my time reading them all the way to the end. Now, I realize I am very much alone in my opinion of this next book, but I own it and I stand by it.

9.

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater was not the book for me. I did read Linger and found it more palatable. I will eventually read Forever (I feel kind of committed to disliking the series and therefore obligated to see it through. I realize that is messed up.)

 

10.

Desires of the Dead by Kimberly Derting was a bitterly disappointing follow-up to The Body Finder. Grr.

 

 

 

Ah, it’s good to be back on track! Now I have to speed read through the end of Chain Reaction by Simone Elkeles so that I can start Son of Neptune after work.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

3 responses to “Top Ten Book Endings That Left My Mouth Hanging Open.

  1. I agree with you that several of these books had amazing endings. I especially love If I Stay and Where She Went.

    Check out my list at teen lit rocks

  2. The Lost Hero is my favorite Rick Riordan book so far. But now that I’ve got my hands on Son of Neptune *smiles*, it may just be replaced!

  3. If I Stay and Where She Went are two of my favorite books ever! When I finished If I Stay , I immediately bought Where She Went.

Leave a Reply

