Top Ten Tuesday: Books that Caused Strong Emotions

This week the bloggers at The Broke and the Bookish have asked us to talk about feelings. More specifically, books that have caused us to feel some strong emotion, good or bad. I had to dig deep in the vault for some of these!

1.

Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White is the first book that I remember that made me cry. Many years later I read it to a class of first graders and gosh darn it, didn’t I choke up again?

 

 

2.

Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson also brought on the waterworks.

 

 

 

3.

I read A Prayer for Owen Meany in high school. I can no longer remember what this book is about, but the image of me reading it is forever seared into my brain. I stayed up all night, huddled on the blue couch in our red tv room. I remember laughing through parts, but what I really remember is finishing, with tears streaming down my face, just as the sun was coming up. Pretty melodramatic and cheesy, huh? But I swear that’s what happened. I should read this again some day.

4.

I was waaaaay too young when I read Flowers in the Attic by V.C. Andrews. I was equal parts horrified and fascinated. I think in the end horrified won out because I never read another V.C. Andrews book. To this day I don’t know what happened to the Dollanganger kids.

 

5.

I read The Bean Trees by Barbara Kingslover for a class in college and that was the beginning of my love of all things Barbara Kingsolver. In fact, Animal Dreams was on the top of my favorites list for a very long time.

 

 

Well that stroll down memory lane was fun. Let’s fast forward to the present to finish off this list.

6.

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon is one of my all-time favorites. It’s mysterious, suspenseful, magical, and it’s about books! I think it may be time to reread this one. Just writing about it makes me want to have it in my hands.

 

7.

Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christs Childhood Pal by Christopher Moore is one of the funniest books I have ever read. I am talking tears of laughter. Again, thinking about it makes me want to reread it.

 

8.

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater caused rage. I strongly disliked this book. I have been told I am the only one to feel this way, but I stand by my assessment. Horrible.

 

 

9.

I really struggled with The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, but once I listened to the audiobook I was hooked. I laughed, I cried, I sat in my driveway long after arriving home just to get more of the story. Powerful stuff. I am glad I didn’t give up on it.

 

 

10.

Where She Went by Gayle Forman made it onto the Books That Left My Mouth Hanging Open List too. It is THAT good. I wanted to immediately reread it just to feel everything all over again.

 

 

 

Had I used only recently read books on this list I would have also included Five Flavors of Dumb by Antony John because it was such a feel-good book and The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson because it was sad and hopeful all at once and it made me cry. The Spellmans series by Lisa Lutz, Going Bovine and Beauty Queen by Libba Bray are laugh-out-loud funny and Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake creeped the bejesus out of me.There I go again, sneaking extra books on to my top ten list. Tsk, tsk.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

8 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books that Caused Strong Emotions

  1. I think I should reread Animal Dreams. I recall having a very visceral reaction to it, too, but the storyline eludes me. I also reacted very strongly to The Book Thief. Thanks for a great list. It gave me lots of ideas.

    Anne
    My Head is Full of Books

  2. Charlotte’s Web made me cry too! Funny thing is, I don’t even like spiders, yet that didn’t stop the waterworks when I read it!

  3. great list, i think i’ll be adding a couple to my TBR pile! 🙂

  4. I’ve only read two of yours! 1- you are not alone on the Shiver thing. THe whole series ticked me off, especially then ending if you want to call it that. UGH. 2 – Where She Went – AWESOME. It’s a book I got from the library but loved so much it moved to the gotta buy a copy. ~Maggie

  5. Once again, we have some overlapping titles. I didn’t include “Bridge to Terabithia” in mine, because I kept mine to a theme, but it’s one of my all-time favorites. I am also a huge Barbara Kingsolver fan and love all of her books. And “A Prayer for Owen Meany” is one of those books that’s worth reading for the revelation chapter alone. I remember slogging through some dense passages about Vietnam and armless statues but when he brings it all together — bam! — you never forget the feeling of reading just why this miraculous little man is so important.

  6. I must read Lamb! I’ve been seeing in around lately, the fact that it keeps popping up in my life means it’s time to give it a go, I guess. And I, took, struggled with The Book Thief. Maybe I’ll see if the library has the audio book.

  7. Yeah, V.C. Andrews is messed up. I wasn’t a fan of Shiver either! 🙂
    Great list. Oh, and Owen Meany is the book that the movie Simon Birch is based off of, if that helps!

  8. Ouch about Shiver! It’s a bummer you didn’t like it but everyone is entitled to their opinion. I have got to read Where She Went. I have it on my bookshelf, it’s finding time for it that’s so difficult. Thanks for sharing your list!

Leave a Reply

