Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’ve Read That Were Outside My Comfort Zone

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week we are talking about reading outside our comfort zones.  For the longest time my comfort zone was fiction. I stopped reading mysteries once I was finished with Nancy Drew, I read a few Stephen King novels for a bit of horror, and I felt that I had read enough classics in high school to get by. My go-to books were by John Irving, Barbara Kingsolver, and Nick Hornby. Science Fiction? I read A Wrinkle in Time…as a kid. Fantasy? No thank you. Except Harry Potter, of course. I willy-nilly read my way through stacks of books I found at my mom’s house as well as random selections from my library until I decided to become a librarian. While I still think it’s just fine to maintain a comfort zone, I also feel obligated to step out of it more often. The more I branch out, the better customer service I can provide to my patrons.

As a Teen Librarian, I absolutely have to be on top of what is going on in the world of YA literature. I love YA literature! On the other hand, I also need to be able to provide reader’s advisory to adult, so I can’t neglect all those fabulous “grown up” books either. This list is a perfect opportunity to celebrate all the wonderful books I read every time I stepped out of my comfort zone.

Nonfiction is the absolute last place I turn for a good book, and yet, the few times a year I pick up nonfiction I really enjoy it. Some of my favorite nonfiction finds:

 

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot

 

 

 

The Psychopath Test by Jon Ronson

 

 

 

 

Bossypants by Tina Fey

 

 

Fantasy is also outside my normal comfort zone, but I have found some titles that I really love.

Brightly Woven by Alexandra Bracken

 The Ranger’s Apprentice series by John Flanagan. The only reason I picked this book up was because I was running out of books that I had read that I could recommend to the guys. It turns out that I adore this series!

   

Blood Red Road by Moira Young

 

 

 

 It also took me a while to warm up to historical fiction. Thank goodness I did or I may have missed these gems:

 

The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly

 

 

The Bloody Jack series by L.A.Meyer. Jacky Faber is my hero.

 

 

 

 

Wicked Girls by Stephanie Hemphill

 

 

 

Finally, it wasn’t until recently that I discovered that I LOVE graphic novels! I am currently working my way through this series:

Fables by Bill Willingham

 

 

 

 

Oh, wait. One more. I thought that I did not like fairies until I read this:

The Iron King by Julie Kagawa. I just finally finished The Iron Daughter and I am ready to move on to The Iron Queen.

I hope this encourages you to step out of your comfort zone more often!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

6 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’ve Read That Were Outside My Comfort Zone

  1. Okay, I’ve seen The Iron King on enough lists today to justify me giving it another look. I, too, think I hate fairies. I might just be wrong…

  2. Oooh I’ve been meaning to check out Fables. I take it you recommend it then?!

  3. Great list! I love, love Blood Red Road! 😉 Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  4. Blood Red Road is definitely on my to-read list! I think it will also be outside my comfort zone, but I’m kind of excited to try it! Great list, and thank you for the book recommendation you left on our blog today! 🙂

  5. I adore graphic novels too! I’ve heard Fables is great so I can’t wait to pick it up soon!

  6. I couldn’t get into Blood Red Road and ended up quitting halfway through. Glad you enjoyed it though! (:

Leave a Reply

