Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Have Been On My TBR Pile Forever

It’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday list! This week the folks over at The Broke and the Bookish have asked us to take a long, hard look at our bookshelves and ‘fess up to what has been languishing, untouched and unread for the longest time. Since I am not at home to look at my personal bookshelves, I am heading over to Goodreads to checkout my TBR list. I really should stop kidding myself; the chances of me getting to all 145 books on that virtual shelf are pretty slim, especially since I keep adding books. But I digress. Here are ten books that I really, truly, honestly intend to read someday but until then, they are stuck on the TBR bookshelf.

1.

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. It’s been on the list since January 2008. Maybe I will pick this for my 7th and 8th grade book club.

 

 

 

2.

Blue is For Nightmares by Laurie Faria Stolarz. I have been meaning to give this series a try. I enjoy her Touch series, but after reading mixed reviews of this one it has been shoved on down the list.

 

 

 

3.

The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen. It’s been a while since I read Just Listen, the only Sarah Dessen book I’ve read.

 

 

 

4.

Death Cloud by Andrew Lane.  I keep checking this one out from the library, but have yet to read it. In fact, I have it at home right now…again.

 

 

5.

Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty. I have heard lots of good things about the Jessica Darling series and I just found four of the five at a used book store over the weekend and just had to snatch them up. I swear I will read them.

 

 

6.

Chains by Laurie Halse Anderson. It’s historical fiction. I struggle with historical fiction.

 

 

 

7.

Mockingbirds by Daisy Whitney is another book that I like to bring home from the library and return unread. I am stuck in a vicious cycle with this one. Someday it will be read.

 

 

8.

Merchant of Death by D.J. MacHale. The Pendragon series has been on my list for a while. In fact, I bought the entire series on audio because I thought I would have an easier time listening. The audio shelf now taunts me every time I walk by.

 

9.

The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin. I am not entirely sure that I have not already read this. Maybe I read it when I was in school? I keep meaning to check it out.

 

 

10.

The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot is another series I would like to read. I think. But I won’t know until I get the first one, right?

 

 

 

Sigh. I usually love Top Ten Tuesday. This list kind of made me sad. So many books, so little time. Ok, wallowing over, it’s time to get reading! I should probably take a day off and finish Game of Thrones so that I can get back to tackling my TBR pile.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

10 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Have Been On My TBR Pile Forever

  1. Ahh! Ender’s Game! Mockingbirds! The Princess Diaries! I could add all of these books to my own list. It’s crazy that, with all the reading we do get around to, the number of books that slip through the cracks is INSANE. Chains great, and the Jessica Darling books are good as well. But if I’m being serious, as a dyed-in-the-wool Stark (I wish!), I am obligated to tell you that Game of Thrones is awesome, and the series gets better as it goes along. Good luck with your pile of shame!

  2. I HIGHLY recommend The Mockingbirds. So good! I hate the new cover design, but oh well. I can hardly wait to read the 2nd one.

  3. I read The Westing Game when I was in school and I absolutely loved it. It was almost like clue and was such a fun read. I’ve been wanting to read The Mockingbirds for a while now, I just haven’t gotten around to it yet.

  4. You have to read The Truth About Forever. Awesome & Sweet. Blue for Nightmares is a nice spooky little book as long as Wicca doesn’t scare you. I liked the 2nd one in the series even more.

  5. I’ve not read any of those!
    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday post.:)

  6. I also need to start reading Sloppy Firsts!!:)

  7. That boy on the cover of Death Cloud is droolworthy. Lol Thanks for the visit and Happy Reading😀

  8. I’ve been wanting to read Ender’s Game too. I don’t know what I haven’t yet.

  9. I read Ender’s Game in high school and I (along with most of the people in my class) loved it!

  10. READ THE JESSICA DARLING SERIES! It’s my favorite series ever (including Harry Potter–which is still a little hard to say sometimes).

    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday post. http://bellsbeautifulbooks.blogspot.com/2011/11/top-ten-tuesday-books-left-unread-for.html

Leave a Reply

