Top Ten Tuesday: My Winter Escape Plan

My poor little blog has been so neglected lately. Thank goodness for Top Ten Tuesday hosted by The Broke and the Bookish! Regardless of how busy I get I. Must. Make. Lists. Any kind of list will do, but a To Do list is particularly satisfying. This week’s TTT is the best of all worlds-a To Do Book List! I keep hearing foreboding weather forecasts for this winter and it sounds like I will be spending lots of time hunkered down under a blanket reading (and/or shoveling a TON of snow). Here are some of my winter reading plans:

1. A Song of Ice and Fire Series by George R.R. Martin. Look at me already cheating! I am totally counting this as one. Anyway, I just finished A Game of Thrones and I am ready to plow through the rest of this series. Winter is coming!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2.  I am going to continue my cheating ways…I plan to finish the Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa. I just have The Iron Queen and The Iron Knight left to go.

 

 

 

 

3.  Oh, what the heck, I am on a cheating roll now. I have been meaning to read the Bad Girls Don’t books by Katie Alender. So far there are two books, but a third is on its way.

 

 

 

 

4. Ok, time to play fair. How about some single titles now? Maybe some 2012 debuts? The cover alone to this one makes me want it, the witches between the covers will be a major bonus. Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood is definitely on my TBR pile for February.

 

 

 

 

5. Here is another one that is getting TONS of buzz-Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi.

 

 

 

 

6. Uh oh, I thought of another series. Back to my cheating ways…I am really close to finishing The Kings of Clonmel, book 8 in The Ranger’s Apprentice series by John Flanagan and I plan to wrap up the series this winter AND start his new series, The Brotherband Chronicles!

 

 

 

 

7.  I am super excited to get my hands on Bleeding Hearts, book 4 in The Drake Chronicles series by Alyxandra Harvey.  It’s one of my favorite vampire series. Love. She also has a fairy book, Stolen Away, coming out. I am not crazy about the cover, but Ms. Harvey has yet to disappoint so it’s on the list!

 

 

 

 

8. I am anxiously awaiting my turn with the newest Bloody Jack book on audio. It will be due back right around Christmas. What a lovely gift The Mark of the Golden Dragon by L.A. Meyer will be for me!

 

 

 

 

9.  Here is another YA book that is due out next month that is getting lot’s of hype-Everneath by Brodi Ashton. Something about the title rubs me the wrong way, but it’s Persephone and Hades retold and I do like a good myth retelling.

 

 

 

 

10. Last, but not least, and certainly not for real last, is the first book in Michael Grant’s new series, BZRK. Come on February 28th!

 

 

 

 

 

 

So there you have it, just a tiny fraction of my winter reading list. I apologize for all the cheating, but honestly, it’s going to happen again. We all know that. What are you reading this winter? BTW, it appears that my punishment for being greedy with my list is horrible formatting. I am sorry. I have tried to fix it.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

19 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: My Winter Escape Plan

  1. I’ve seen Everneath on a lot of blogs–and I loved the Rangers Apprentice series. enjoy your reading. kaye—the road goes ever ever on

  2. I love the Iron Fey series!! Iron Knight was epic! Enjoy 🙂

  3. Great list!! I have seen Under the Never Sky on so many lists and I love the sound of the Iron Fey series

  4. The Song of Ice and Fire series is a LONG time favorite of mine. I have read through it several times. The first three books are absolutely amazing. I also highly recommend them on audiobook, Roy Dotrice narrates them (except, sadly, book 4 Feast for Crows), and he is absolutely amazing.

    You’ll have to tell me how you like them, they can definitely be an undertaking (especially the last two, you practically need a flow chart).

  5. Totally fun-looking list. 🙂 I just finished and loved the available Wheel of Time books, except for the prequel, and I understand that the Song of Fire and Ice set is another great epic. Also, I should really read the Ranger’s Apprentice series.

    I hadn’t heard of Under the Never Sky till today, but the cover is lovely…

    Thanks for coming by my blog!

  6. I’ve read the first book, Game of Thrones, it’s awesome! Have to get to the other ones at some point, hope you enjoy them. The Iron Fey are awesome, those two books you have to read are my favourite! I haven’t read the other ones on your list, but good luck this winter!!

  7. haha i love making lists, too. i think we have similar books tastes as i have most of those books at home. i have the first martin book that i got earlier this year that i really need to read. and i keep checking out the iron king from the library but haven’t had time to read it. how am i going to read them all? good luck on your list!

  8. Thanks for stopping by! You have a lot of interesting ones on your list! I still haven’t read the Iron Fey series, but I definitely want to. Also dying to read From Bad to Cursed. The first book was so good! Stolen Away, Under the Never Sky, and Everneath look awesome as well. 🙂 Happy reading!

  9. Great list!! I really need to read A Game of Thrones already. 🙂

  10. Oooo, I added Under the Never Sky to my TBR list! That one looks good.
    Also, I just finished the Iron Fey series yesterday. Iron Queen was my favorite and I loved the series!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

  11. Ooh, I forgot about Born Wicked and Under the Never Sky. Those both sound really good. ^^
    You have me wanting to finish AGoT, since you said you couldn’t stop once you reached the middle. 🙂
    Curious: Have you watched A Game of Thrones?

  12. I want to read Everneath, too! The cover is INTENSE. And Born Wicked looks so, so good!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog! (:

  13. The first two series on your list hit it on the mark!– I also want to read those as well!
    Thanks for dropping by my Top Ten Tuesday post too 🙂

  14. That is quite the ambitious list with those giant Song of Ice and Fire books in there. Everneath was a close number 11 on my list and I still haven’t read any of the Iron Fey books, but apparently they’re good. Might try to pick up the first one on audiobook this winter.

    Great list!

  15. Bad Girls, Everneath, Under The Never Sky and Born Wicked are all ony TBR for next year!

  16. Born Wicked, Under the Never Sky and Everneath are all books I am DYING to read!!! Fabulous choices.

  17. I’m totally impressed that you added series into your list! I’ll have a hard enough time finishing just 10 books, with them each being individuals. I wish work didn’t take up so much of my day — then I could just read, read, read to my heart’s content!

  18. Wow. What a big list! Thanks for dropping by my blog. I get overwhelmed whenever I think of all the books I want to read. Eek!

  19. Great choices. I can’t wait to read Game of Thrones.

Leave a Reply

