Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Hope Santa Brings

Can you believe that Christmas is almost here? Thanks to the folks over at The Broke and The Bookish, I have one last chance to write a Dear Santa letter. Maybe I’ll get lucky!

Dear Santa,

I know books are a heavy, but if it’s not too much trouble for you and the flying reindeer crew, I would love to have a few new volumes in my collection. I swear I have room for them. You don’t need to bring all of them, but if you could tuck one or two in your sleigh for me I would be so thankful. Here are few suggestions:

1. Goliath by Scott Westerfeld. I have Leviathan and Behemoth (signed!)and they keep asking when their final book will be joining them. “Some day” is no longer cutting it, they are getting awfully pushy. I keep telling them that I am well aware of the fact that they are beautiful books and they feel incomplete without it. I think they should just be happy that they showed up on a Top Ten list two weeks in a row and back off.

2.  The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins. I cannot believe I do not own these books. Ok, fine, it is totally wrong to LIE to Santa. I do have the first one, but I bought it used and it has a giant coffee (I hope) stain on it that I did not notice and I would love a shiny new copy. Santa, I swear I am not shallow. I just like things to match, so if all you have are coffee-stained copies of the other two, send them my way, please.

3. Hex Hall and Demonglass by Rachel Hawkins. I should really own these, they are so much fun. I can hardly wait for Spellbound. How magic are you, Santa? Can you bring a book that isn’t due out until March? I bet you could. I believe.

4. The Outcasts by John Flanagan. I would love to have the complete Ranger’s Apprentice series, but at 10 books, that is a lot to ask of you, dear Santa. So, how about the first book in a brand new series? I haven’t read it yet, so it’s the perfect gift!

5. Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi. This book was awesome. It should be part of my collection. Also, I want to be ready for Mr. Bacigalupi’s next book, The Drowned Cities when it comes out in May. Also, I just know my nephews will totally love this book in another 5-6 years, why not be prepared?

6. Ex Libris by Anna Fadiman. It’s a book about books and reading and libraries. It’s not new, but I recently saw this on someone else’s blog. It looks so little and cute, and again, it’s about books and read. Yes please!

7. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. Please, Santa. I really need this book. I really need to read this book, so I should just have it at my house at all times.

8. Graceling by Kristin Cashore. I am sure I would really like this series, I just never seem to get to it. Maybe if someone *ahem* *wink, wink* Santa, would bring it to me, I am sure I would make the time for it.

9. How about an I.O.U for Black Heart by Holly Black? Unless of course you can work some magic, because I am nearly desperate for this book. I don’t know if I can wait until April. Seriously. But, if I must wait, I will take an I.O.U. or else I am going to end up with another Goliath situation…

10. Finally, I could use some inspiration, so if you have recommendation please leave it under my tree! I would love to spent the winter planning some new spring landscaping, working on clever (but simple) crafts, and cooking some delicious new treats. I know there books for these things, I just have to find them.

Thanks Santa! And like I said, if it’s too much, don’t worry. I work in a library, I can get my own books (but this is something so satisfying about owning your favorites).

Sincerely,

Megan

8 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Hope Santa Brings

  1. GREAT list. Ex Libris is my go-to book for fellow book lovers in my life. They have to be REAL bookish people though, not just those that read a book occasionally and can actually enter a bookstore or library without buying/checking anything out. I, too, am wishing for The Outcasts – can’t wait! Hope you get some of these!

  2. I so love the Hex Hall serie!! I can’t wait for Spell Bound to come out!! 🙂

    Great wishlist! Hope Santa will bring them to you 😉

  3. Little Women is one of my favorites. 🙂

    Hope you get a whole stack of great books this Christmas!

  4. You sound like me. I can’t stand for my books not to match, but sadly I don’t have a single series that matches. Oh well, I love them all the same! Hopefully Santa is good to you this year!

  5. Great list! I loved Little Women. 🙂

  6. I had to laugh at #1, because I am experiencing the exact (and I do mean exact) same situation! Goliath was on my list, not surprisingly 🙂

  7. I also want shiny new versions of books I already own. I don’t think that’s too much to ask for. And I definitely believe that Santa is magical enough to bring us all books from the future!

  8. Your list is awesome! I love the way you write =) Will definitely be visiting your blog in the future. Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

