Top Ten Tuesday: Best of 2011

I think that a Top Ten Tuesday list is the perfect way to spend the first work day of the last work week of 2011 (I had to think about that one!). Anyway, the fabulous bloggers over at The Broke and the Bookish have asked us to tell you about our favorite books of 2011. As if a list of ten is enough…I’ll try, but be prepared for cheating. My first act of cheating is to direct you to the top ten list that I created for Read It Or Weep, the blog written by the reference staff at my library. My favorite adult reads of the year can be found here. While you are there, I recommend you check out some of the other lists as they are quite awesome. Now I can focus on my favorite YA read! I am going to be up front here. This list will have 12 titles, a favorite for each month of 2011.

January

Five Flavors of Dumb by Antony John is a stunning, feel-good debut. What a wonderful way to start the new year. My middle school book club is currently reading it and we will be discussing it in February. I can’t wait.

February  

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins, another spectacular debut, was the perfect Valentine’s Day read. Sadly, I could not fall in love with Lola. Maybe I will try again in 2012.

March

Shine by Lauren Myracle may be one of the most controversial YA books of 2011. It is also one of the most powerful books I read this year.

April

Blood Red Road by Moira Young, no, wait, The Dark and Hollow Place by Carrie Ryan, oh no, I meant to say Red Glove by Holly Black was my favorite read in April. Yup, I am going with Red Glove. I love the alternate reality world of magic and mobsters that Cassel lives in. With all the betrayals he has suffered it’s no wonder he is so dark and brooding. Sigh. Anyway…Read White Cat first.

May

Divergent by Veronica Roth is yet another 2011 debut author. The Elevensies are certainly dominating my list so far. Way to go guys! Anyway, if you haven’t already read it, do yourself a favor and get on that.

June

Stork by Wendy Delsol sat neglected on my TBR list for ages! How sad that I denied myself this gem of a book for so long. Don’t make the same mistake as me, take this one (and the sequel, Frost) home ASAP.

July

Where She Went by Gayle Forman totally surprised me. I really enjoyed If I Stay, but I did not expect to LOVE Where She Went as much as I did. Amazing.

August

Pop by Gordon Korman was a book I selected for my book club. I try really hard to have good mix of male and female leads and this one was perfect. If you think you won’t like it because it is about football, put those thoughts out of your mind. Sure, there is football, but it’s really about family and friendship and doing the wrong thing for the right reasons. It’s funny and sad and an all around great read.

September

Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick is a beautiful story told in print and illustrations. September marked the beginning of a major reading slump for me. I read a lot of graphic novels this month and Wonderstruck was the most amazing of them all. Audio versions of the first two Harry Potter books also helped me through my weird funk.

October

Ok, it is nearly impossible to pick a favorite from October. Hourglass by Myra McEntire, Ruby Red by Kerstin Geir, Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan and Goliath by Scott Westerfeld were ALL read in October. Seriously, how do I choose from that list? What? I have to pick just one? Fine. Eenie, meenie, miney, moe…I choose:

But I am not happy about having to pick just one. I am sorry Gwenyth, Percy, and Deryn. I still love you very much.

November

I could not in good conscience make a favorites list that did not include The Ranger’s Apprentice. I began this series early in 2011 and have made my way through book 8 and have loved each and every one. So, the best of November honor goes to The Kings of Clonmel by John Flanagan.

December

The month isn’t over yet, but I am going say that my favorite read of the month was Legend by Marie Lu. Another debut author, another fantastic addition to the growing list of awesome dystopian reads.

The rough draft of my favorites list had 26 titles on it, so I am going to go ahead and pat myself on the back for picking 12 (and slipping in mentions of a couple more….sneaky, sneaky). I think I may have to make a Top Ten Wednesday list (doesn’t have the same ring to it, huh?) for honorable mentions. That’s all for now though. I am off to see what you picked as the best of 2011.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

9 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Best of 2011

  1. Hourglass, Legend, Anna and the French Kiss, and Divergent are all on my TBR list! I can’t wait to read them!! (:

    It was so cute how you did this list corresponding to month! (:

    Happy New Year!

  2. Anna and the French Kiss is on so many! I will have to add it to my TBR list. I really want to read Hourglass and If I Stay, they sound awesome. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    And P.S. You should really read Daughter of Smoke and Bone 🙂

  3. oooo I want to read a lot of those! great list! shine looks great! 🙂

  4. Such great choices! Anna and the French Kiss is also one of my favorites.

    ~Nikki @ Imaginative Adventure

    Check out my Top ten. Plus my top two favorite books giveaway!

  5. Kudos for being able to remember what months you read books in. I’m lucky if I remember any books I read, which made for a really hard time coming up with my Top Ten! Great list and here’s to 2012 being filled with just as many (if not more) great reads!

  6. Great list! hourglass, Divergent and Legend are all on my TBR list! Thanks for stopping by my blog and happy reading.

  7. I was hoping to read Legend in time to do my “Best of” list and while I did bring it along on Christmas vacation, I just haven’t had time to read it…

    I love that you picked your books by month. I think that would have been even harder for me to do. This is a great list! In addition to Divergent, I also loved Anna and the French Kiss (though I have no desire to read Lola and the Boy Next Door), The Dark and Hollow Places, and The Son of Neptune.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. It is always nice to find another Ohio librarian with a blog (I’m at Holmes County library)

  8. I seriously need to read Hourglass. It’s been on my TBR forever, but I still haven’t gotten around to it yet. Hopefully soon.

  9. Leah @ So Says the Whale

    Despite having heard of all of these, I have yet to read a single one! 😦

    On your adult list, however, I’ve read quite a few of those books. ♥ Blood Oath was so much fun! I haven’t come across anyone else who’s read that series!

Leave a Reply

