Top Ten Tuesday: Books I am Excited to Read in 2012

Happy New Year and welcome to the first Top Ten Tuesday of 2012. As alway, many thanks to our hosts, The Broke and the Bookish. We are starting the year off with a list of books we are excited to read in 2012. This list poses a special challenge for me. Now that I think about it just about every list poses some challenge that allows me to justify cheating and making lists with more than ten titles. You know what? I’m going to just go ahead and own this. My name is Megan and I make Top Ten Lists with more than ten items on them. I am sorry if you are a stickler for the rules and dislike hearing about more than ten awesome books at a time, but that’s just how I roll here at YA? Why Not?. I feel better putting that out there. So here’s the deal. This year I want to really work on reading great books that I have missed. Of course I am also excited about brand new books coming out in 2012. See where I am going with this? No? Keep reading…

1. Timepiece by Myra McEntire (June 2012) and Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card


2. Sapphire Blue by Kerstin Gier (October 2012) and Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

3.  Insurgent by Veronica Roth (May 2012) and Graceling by Kristin Cashore

4. Spell Bound by Rachel Hawkins (March 2012) and The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey

5. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (January 2012) and The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

6.  Cinder by Marissa Meyer (January 2012) and Hold Me Closer Necromancer by Lish McBride

7.  Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood (February 2012) and The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

8.  Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa (April 2012) and The Maze Runner by James Dashner

9. Black Heart by Holly Black (April 2012) and Across the Universe by Beth Revis

10.  Out of Sight, Out of Time by Ally Carter (March) and Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly

There you have it, 20 of the books I am most excited to read in 2012! Don’t worry, I did not forget about Kiersten White, Rick Riordan, and a bunch of debut authors; I will have plenty more opportunities to mention their 2012 release!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

9 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I am Excited to Read in 2012

  1. OH GREAT LIST! Insurgent and The immortal rules!! aaa can’t wait! and I need to read Graceling as well! 🙂 Soon 😉

  2. Great choices! I agree — there are too many great picks already published to stick to a list of 2012 books! Happy reading.

    ~Nikki @ Imaginative Adventure. Giveaway!

  3. I had to read Little Women for a uni course and really enjoyed it – but I hated the constant reference to Pilgrim’s Progress. It just got really annoying (in my mind).

    Enjoy reading all the books on your list this year!

  4. The Fault in Our Stars and The Maze Runner are on my list as well.

  5. Oh wow, I hadn’t realised GG5 was out so soon! Great list – I’m a HUGE fan of the Monstrumologist, so awesome to see it here. (And clever way of getting 20 titles on your list!)

    Mine is at YA Yeah Yeah if you’d like to take a look.

  6. Thanks for stopping by.
    Born Wicked and The Name of a Star are definitely two I can’t wait to read either! I don’t know how I forgot about them.
    I cheated too lol It’s ok to cheat on your own blog is how I think of it 🙂

  7. Way to sneak 20 onto your list. 😀

    Ender’s Game is one of my all-time favorites–I hope you love it. Little Women, likewise. And I thought Divergent and Across the Universe were solid, worthwhile books. There are several others here that I, too, ought to read. Good list!

  8. You go with adding as many books as you see fit! How can anyone pick just ten that they’re looking forward to (although I did manage it.. hmm…). I’d forgotten about Timepiece; thanks for the reminder! Happy reading in 2012!

  9. Excellent list idea! I am excited about reading Cinder. I have it and hope to read it as soon as I’m done with Legend. I loved Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly and Across the Universe. I forgot about Sapphire Blue. I really enjoyed Ruby Red. These are all great picks and I hope you enjoy them!

Leave a Reply

