Mondays with Megan-Is 2012 My Lucky Year? The Proof is in the Pudding!

My seven-year-old nephew started a new tradition this year for New Year’s Eve-rice pudding with an almond in it. This is actually a popular Christmas Eve tradition in Norway, Denmark, and Finland. According to the tradition the cook places one whole almond in the rice pudding and whoever gets it in their serving will have good luck for the year or get an extra present. Well my friends, I got the almond and so far I’ve been feeling pretty lucky. Two lucky things happened last Friday.

1. I received a phone call telling me I won a box of books from Amazon Publishing after being 1 of 15 randomly selected winners of a School Library Journal giveaway. I am excited to see what I won!

2. Author Antony John generously offered to do a Skype interview with my book club after we discuss his book, Five Flavors of Dumb! They don’t know this yet (unless they are reading this) but they will find out when we meet in February. How cool is that? We will be talking with Mr. John in March so if you have any questions for leave him, me a comment and I will do my best to get them answered for you. In the mean time, go out and read his book if you haven’t already; it’s a great feel-good read.

I’d say things are looking good so far. How about you? Is 2012 going to be your good luck year too?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

Leave a Reply

