Top Ten Tuesday: Pick Me! Pick Me…For Your YA Book Club.

It’s Top Ten Tuesday time! This week The Broke and the Bookish have asked us to select ten books that would be picks for a book club. I love this topic because I am always looking for new ideas for my 7th and 8th grade book club AND I have a ready-made list of books that I have used with success. Easy-peasy this week!

1. Double Identity by Margaret Peterson Haddix. My kids LOVED this book about cloning. They had so much to say that we actually ran out of time! It was such a hit that I ordered book club copies of The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer and The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson for future use.

2.  No More Dead Dogs by Gordan Korman was the first book I ever read with my first book club. It was such a success that I went on to give them Pop by the same author. I liked Pop better!

3. Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin. This unique look at life, death, and the afterlife really got my group talking. I will definitely use this book again.

4. Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi. There are plenty of things to discuss in this action-packed novel-environmentalism, family, religion, survival, corporate greed….oh, the list goes on.

5. Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer was another book club favorite. It’s a frighteningly realistic survival story and my readers loved it. I think they also enjoyed playing Life as We Knew It Pictionary!

6. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld. Ok, I may be a bit biased because this is one of my favorite books of all time, but I think my readers enjoyed it too. It’s a keeper for my book club.

7. The Misfits by James Howe. I found the writing a bit young, but my middle school readers really liked this one, and that’s what is important, right? This is the book that inspired No Name Calling Week. It’s got a great message and I’ll use it again.

8. Five Flavors of Dumb by Antony John. This is my current book club selection. I hope my group loves it as much as I do. This is the first time I am using this book and I am very excited that Mr. John has offered to do a Skype visit with my group. They are so lucky, if I do say so myself! As much as I talk about it, you would think I got some sort of commission for plugging this book. I do not. I promise. But I do think everyone should read this book. Mr. John, my address is….kidding.

 

9. Book Thief by Markus Zusak. To my surprise, my book club requested this one. Well, who am I to stand in the way of these ambitious young readers? They will be getting this one in March.

10. Bloody Jack by L.A. Meyer. You can’t possibly be surprised to see this on my list. I love this series and I wanted to share my beloved Jacky with my favorite readers (that would be you, RRPL Teen Pizza Pagers). To my dismay, they were like, “meh.” Hmph. There is no accounting for taste. I stand by my choice. I think there is plenty to talk about and I will definitely try it again with a different group.

And as a little bonus, a sneak peek at future book club books: Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld (total S.W. groupie) and The Cardturner by Louis Sachar. I also thinking about getting a book club set of Sorta Like a Rock Star by Matthew Quick.

Ok, I am off to see what other people picked.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

 

5 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Pick Me! Pick Me…For Your YA Book Club.

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog! I’m returning the favor 🙂 Can I just say that I LOVE that you have a book club with your middle schoolers?? I SO would have loved that when I was in school! Your choices are awesome too!! The only one on the list I’ve actually read is Book Thief, but many of the others – including Ship Breaker and Elsewhere are on my tbr list.
    http://theonceandfuturelibrarian.blogspot.com/2012/01/top-ten-tuesday-book-club-selections.html

  2. I’ve only read The Book Thief from your list, but I’ve been meaning to read Uglies, and Elsewhere sounds amazing!

    Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Great list! There are a bunch on here that are on my book club’s to-be-read list and a few that we’ve read already. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. I don’t read tons of YA, yet you’ve managed to single out several that I DO like!

  5. I love Elsewhere, Uglies, and The Book Thief! I really need to read Bloody Jack. A lot of people who liked Piratica recommended it.

Leave a Reply

