Mondays With Megan: I am Reading About Zombies, What Are You Reading?

Happy Monday! I don’t know about you, but I jam-packed a bunch of stuff into my weekend-including work. I finally got to meet the newest addition to my huge family, baby niece Quinn (who has the most adorably pinchable cheeks and gorgeous hair), I taught my nephew some new card games, let the dog run wild and free in the Metropark (I have to get up pretty darned early to have the place to myself, but it is so worth it), and spent some time at my favorite coffee shop. I missed Downton Abbey, but I will get to that tonight. I also missed the Super Bowl, but that was mostly on purpose. I also got back on a zombie kick-one more week until the return of The Walking Dead! And since it’s Monday, I love a good list, let’s join in It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? This meme is hosted by Book Journey and reposted for the MG/YA crowd by Teach Mentor Texts

I am still working on the same audiobooks from last week, Four to Score by Janet Evanovich and Bleeding Hearts by Ian Rankin. Both of these are adult book. I think my next YA audiobook will be I am the Messenger by Markus Zusak, but I probably won’t get to that until next week, so stay tuned.

Quickly Rereading for Book Club on Wednesday:

Five Flavors of Dumb by Antony John

On my night stand:

I am Number Four by Pittacus Lore. I am showing the movie at the library next week!

My e-book:

This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers. I got this from Netgalley and finally had a chance to start it. I think this may be what sparked by return to the zombie books.

What I am really reading:

The Walking Dead by Robert Kirkman. These are in our Adult Graphic Novel collection, but I am sure there teens out there loving this series as much as I am! At first I stayed away from the books because I didn’t want any spoilers for the TV series. However, I realized that the show does not really follow the book’s storyline very closely and I was needing a zombie fix so I picked up volumes 3 and 4 this weekend. I can’t wait to see how much of the story the show uses, because it is AWESOME. These books are such a distraction. I am torn between wanting to sit down and plow through them and rationing them. I am pretty sure I won’t be able to resist. Volume 5 is sitting at home just waiting…

My at work/breaks book: Actually, I am not sure. I think it will be this:

 The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa

Then again, lunch may be the perfect time to leisurely flip through this:

The World of Downton Abbey by Jessica Fellowes

I will decide tomorrow. Today I must finish Endlessly by Kiersten White. I am looking forward to great reading this week. How about you?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

 

6 responses to “Mondays With Megan: I am Reading About Zombies, What Are You Reading?

  1. ooooh….I didn’t realize Zusak had a new book out! I will have to look for that one.

    As you saw at my blog, I have been listening to The Power of Six on audio (the sequel to I Am Number Four) – hope you enjoy both the book and the movie!

    Sue

  2. Zombie books are always fun to read. The Walking Dead GNs have been on my TBR for a while- I’ll have to get my hands on some. Have you read Carrie Ryan’s The Forest of Hands and Teeth and its companions?

    • Carrie Ryan’s books are and always will be my FAVORITE zombie books! I had a chance to meet her and she is hilarious.

  3. Woot Woot on the zombies! Holla! 🙂 I am incredibly excited about that Downton Abbey book. Love the show. Have a good reading week!

  4. Wow, you juggle an impressive number of books! I am currently reading the World of Downton Abbey. I just started chapter two last night. Hopefully tomorrow I will be getting Season 2 on DVD.

    I have to admit that the kind of zombie fiction I prefer is more along the lines of The Forest of Hands and Teeth or Dearly, Departed. In other words romance disguised as a zombie novel 🙂 I still haven’t read I Am Number Four though I did watch the movie. Good luck with your reading this week!

  5. I had the Kagawa checked out of the library once but didn’t get to it.

    I loved The Book Thief by Zuzak and keep forgetting there is another one by him to go after.

    I have two review/giveaways up and one of them is for a YA fantasy.

Leave a Reply

