Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Broke My Heart A Little

This week the blogger’s at The Broke and the Bookish decided to go with an Anti-Valentine’s Day theme. We are picking books that kind of broke our hearts. It will be interesting to see how people interpret this. There are a couple obvious choices, Harry Potter and Mockingjay are the two that I am sure will be on a lot of lists. Please don’t think I am heartless for not including them on my official list. Think of them as numbers 10+1 and 10+2…math is not really my thing.

1. The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson. After her sister’s death, Lennie discovers that she has no one to hide behind. She is broken and no longer knows how to live. Her path from grief to acceptance is long and painful, but beautifully told.

2. The Summer series by Jenny Han. This series tells the story of Belly Conklin and the two boys who manage to love her and break her heart. There is a lot of heartbreak in the series and it isn’t all about the love triangle.

3. Notes from the Dog by Gary Paulsen. Admittedly not the best book ever, but it still broke my heart when I read it. Timing is everything and at the time that I read it I was very sensitive. Still, a solid tear-jerker about cancer and friendship and families. Good stuff.

4. Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers. This book is a devastating look at the lives of mean girls and bullying. It breaks my heart how realistic it is. On a side note, I am reading an arc of her newest book, This is Not a Test and it’s pretty heartbreaking too.

5. Shine by Lauren Myracle. It was so hard to find words when I originally wrote a review of this book. The gorgeous cover is deceptive, inside is a world of ugliness and heartbreak. It’s a tough but amazing read.

6. Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King. Vera Dietz lost her best friend, twice. Once when he totally betrayed her and screwed her over and again when he died. Vera’s struggle with her anger at Charlie and her grief over his betrayal and death are a little heartbreaking.

7. The Marbury Lens by Andrew Smith. This book haunted me for months after reading it. It got in my head, under my skin, and kind of twisted around in my heart. Very powerful book.

8. Pop by Gordon Korman. Yup, I got a little vaclempt over this football book. It really is a sweet sad story.

9. Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys. WWII and labor camps? Yeah, that’s a little bit of heartbreak for you.

10. Desires of the Dead by Kimberley Derting and Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater. These are a tie and they broke my heart for the same reason. In my opinion they did not meet my high expectations. I was told they were awesome. I was told I would love them. They were not. I did not. Disappointment can break your heart.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

7 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Broke My Heart A Little

  1. first off: a) cool list! I’ve never heard of any of them lol so now I’m going to put The Marbury Lens on my TR list. b) you have totally changed my life! I was just browsing your blog when i relized two things 1) you are on wordpress like me but 2) you have a Goodreads widget! SO COOL! I’ve been waiting forever for them to become compatable. Thanks!!
    jfeldt

  2. I am seeing Between Shades of Gray alot. I have not read it yet, good list though.

    Kayla

  3. I haven’t read any of these but I definitely agree with the sentiment of #10. I always try not to listen to too much hype about books I want to read because I really hate being disappointed when others rave about them.

  4. I so completely agree with The Sky is Everywhere!! God, I love this book! And the poems are so so amazing! And the story is so heartbreaking!! A really really great list!!

  5. I agree with Please Ignore Vera Dietz. I really liked that book. I want to read Between Shades of Gray.

  6. I desperately need to read The Summer Series! There’s just never enough time for all the books 😛

  7. OMG, I can’t believe I forgot Between Shades of Gray on my list!!! I love that book. Totally broke my heart 😦 I haven’t finished the Summer series, so I can’t wait to see how it turns out and loved Shine 🙂 Great picks!

Leave a Reply

