Top Ten Tuesday: In Case of Alien Invasion, Save These Books!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, brought to you by The Broke and The Bookish, is wide open to interpretation and leaves me with more questions than answers! The idea is to list books I would save in case aliens were abducting my house (or other disaster). My question is, am I escaping the house and can only carry ten books with me? Or, are the aliens taking me, my house, and just ten of my books? Is the disaster a fire? A flood? A tornado? It’s really important to me that I have the scenario straight in my head because 1. 99% of my books are replaceable 2. am I going to be on another planet where I can’t get more books, and now have to teach an alien race about humans based on the ten books I have managed to smuggle on board their spaceship? That is a huge responsibility! This is interesting. As much as I love my books, it turns out I am not in the least bit sentimental about them! I would definitely rescue a few childhood favorites and my mom’s copy of Trinity by Leon Uris. The rest I can’t be bothered with. Now, if I am entertaining/educating some aliens, that is a different story!

1. Beauty Queens by Libba Bray will teach the aliens that we are a reality tv loving, beauty obsessed culture. Also, it’s hilarious and a great introduction to satire.

2. Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi will teach the aliens that we are also obsessed with fossil fuels. It could be a cautionary tale.

3. The Cardturner by Louis Sachar will teach me and the aliens how to play bridge. We might need a distraction.

4. Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld will totally mess with their little alien heads. Can I pull it off as a real history lesson? Also, it’s beautifully illustrated. On second thought, what if it gives them funny ideas? Beasties anyone?

5.  Five Flavors of Dumb by Antony John will tug at their tiny little alien heartstrings because it’s so inspirational! Also, they will get a little rock and roll education.

6. Hourglass by Myra McEntire will help the aliens understand time travel. Or, will provide them with a good laugh at our simpleton notions of time travel. They could be experts. That’s fine too. Everyone deserves a good laugh (or an awesome time travel story).

7. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott, because honestly, at the rate I am going, the only way I will ever get this one read is if I am help captive my a race of kind but curious aliens.

8.  Hearts at Stake by Alyxandra Harvey will teach the aliens that the Cullens’ aren’t the only smokin’ hot vampires around. It’s important that they know this.

9. The Rook by Daniel O’Malley will teach the aliens that we are totally on to them and all the other supernatural/paranormal stuff going on here on Earth. It’s not a YA title, but not necessarily inappropriate for teens and it is an awesome debut novel.

10+. A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, A Feast for Crows, and A Dance With Dragons by George R.R. Martin will be my ticket home. The aliens will need to know what happens next, so we’ll all pop back down to Earth in 2013 and pick up the next book. Also, see Little Women. *sigh*

I am not sure I really followed the spirit of the challenge, but I am pleased with my list. If I was really clever, I would have thrown some survival books on there, you know, just in case…

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

2 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: In Case of Alien Invasion, Save These Books!

  1. You have some of my favorite books in your “saved or rescued” pile. Fun!

  2. This is hilarious! I love how you are going to use these books against (or for?) the aliens. Awesome post. I kinda hope you get abducted so you can read Little Women 🙂

Leave a Reply

