Mondays with Megan, In which I report on the books I have recently devoured.

I hate to jinx myself here, but I have got to say that I have been on a roll with books lately. It seems like everything I pick up is amazing. I really need to stop slacking and write some reviews. I also have to get a post up about the awesome Skype interview my book club had with the wonder Antony John, author of one of my favorite books, Five Flavors of Dumb and the up-coming Thou Shalt Not Road Trip. But, that will have to wait for another day.

Before I jump into What Are You Reading? I would like to remind all you Rocky River folks that tomorrow is my Hunger Games Party. We’ll get started at 3:30, so stop in after school for games, trivia, and prizes. I think I have some good prizes, including a pair of VIP passes to the Crocker Park pre-release party happening Wednesday! Program promo over, on to the books.

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by The Book Journey. A children’s/teen version is found over at Teacher Mentor Texts.

First of all, I devoured two books last week. Could not put them down.

 

In my car: Sadly, Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly came to end. I have totally switched gears and opted for an adult book this time around. In fact, this book comes recommended to me by a patron. I am very much enjoying Supreme Courtship by Christopher Buckley.

A president with no desire to run for a second term nominates a TV court judge to the Supreme Court. Ha!

At work: The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson. I have been meaning to read this book for ages. Well, Jack the Ripper, you are up! I am keeping my trend of reading ghost stories at work alive. I’ll save the not so spooky stuff for home!

At home: I am fortunate to have an advanced copy of Anna Dean’s newest Dido Kent mystery, A Woman of Consequence. Victorian mystery and romance-yay! I am sure the US cover will be different when it comes out in April, but this is the only one I could find.

The book I really wish I could finish: Wanderlove by Kristin Hubbard. I swear, it’s a great book. I am half way through and I am very much enjoying it. I just keep getting interrupted. I feel bad for it.

The book that will get me to drop everything: Spell Bound by Rachel Hawkins. I really need the third Hex Hall book. Now. Please. Not that I want the series to be over, but I really need to know what happens!

So, what are you reading this week?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

3 responses to “Mondays with Megan, In which I report on the books I have recently devoured.

  1. So Revolution is good on audio? I need more audio! Looks like some amazing reading!

  2. Yay for Five Flavors of Dumb! I love that book. I wish more people picked it up. It’s great. The Name of the Star was interesting, I didn’t really know what it was about when I read it but then as I got into it it was actually kind of cool and creepy. An interesting idea!

  3. I hope to read Out of Sight, Out of Time soon. I want to reread the other books in the series first. I can’t wait to read Spell Bound. I am on a waiting list at the library but I may break down and buy it even though I don’t own books 1 &2. I also need to read Anna Dean’s Dido Kent books. I have a feeling I’d love them. I’ve heard good things about Wanderlove and I hope to read it sometime this spring. I love to read books involving travel.

    I like that you are reading ghost stories at work 🙂 My current library is too modern for it but at my hometown library there is supposedly a library ghost who likes to haunt the nonfiction room….

Leave a Reply

