Top Ten Tuesday-Spring Reading!

Spring has sprung, which means warm weather, flowers in bloom, baseball, and new books! The Broke and the Bookish are asking what books are on our To Read Lists this spring. Easy peasy!

1. Spell Bound by Rachel Hawkins. Book three in the Hex Hall series is here and I must have it!  March 13

2. Black Heart by Holly Black. The third book in The Curse Workers series is due out April 3. I am not a huge fan of the cover redesigns (I think the second cover looks too girly), but I am desperate for more of Cassel.

 

3. Grave Mercy R.L. LaFevers. The first book in the His Fair Assassin Trilogy comes out April 3. Historical fiction, supernatural, intrigue, and a feisty female assassin? Nice.

4. Thou Shalt Not Road Trip by Antony John. I loved Five Flavors of Dumb and have high hopes for this new offering. It comes out April 12.

5. The Selection by Kiera Cass. I am bit nervous about this one. The concept is intriguing and the cover is lovely, but the reviews are mixed. I will find out for myself when this comes out April 24.

6. Insurgent by Veronica Roth. Do I need to explain this one? Is it May 1st yet? Seriously? Hurry hurry hurry.

7. The Drowned Cities by Paolo Bacigalupi. This companion novel to Ship Breaker comes out May 1. I can’t wait to get back into that world and hopefully see some familiar characters.

8. City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare. Despite my annoyance over the whole series stretch here and the fact that covers are getting worse, I am nonetheless hooked.  Book five in The Mortal Instruments series comes out May

I am sure there are plenty more amazing new books coming out this spring that I will need to read, but I am rounding out my list with a couple that I have been putting off.

9. A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin. Book 2 in the A Song of Ice and Fire series has been taunting me for months. I think a nice latte and some warm weather and a trip to a park are exactly what I need to get back into this complicated series.

10. The Emperor of Nihon-Ja by John Flanagan. The final book in The Ranger’s Apprentice series has been sitting on my nightstand for weeks, but when I finish it, the series will be over. I don’t want it to be over. Then again, once I finish, I can start The Brotherband Chronicles!

What are you looking forward to reading this spring?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

8 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-Spring Reading!

  1. Great list! I’m looking forward to several of these, too, ESPECIALLY Grave Mercy. Assassins? Yes, all over it!

    I feel you on the Curseworkers covers. The new ones are nice, I guess, but I’m not feeling them for this particular series.

    Steph @ Poetry to Prose

  2. I’ve been seeing Grave Mercy on several others’ lists today… Haven’t heard of it but it looks awesome! Will definitely be adding this one to the TBR list!

    Also, your Mortal Instruments comment cracked me up! The covers are getting kind of worse, aren’t they?

  3. I didn’t realise it was so close to the Thou Shalt Not Road Trip release date! I’m looking forward to that one too. Plus I get what you mean with the TMI covers – my favourite was and probably will always be City of Ashes. Still, I’m looking forward to City of Lost Souls.

    My Top Ten Tuesday

  4. Wow you have some awesome books lined up to read! I have never read the Mortal Instruments series, and I have seen mixed reviews about them. So many of these books look/sound amazing. My TBR list just keeps growing with all these book memes.
    Thank you for stopping by Reading It All!

  5. Yes, yes, yes to all of these! I think I’m most excited for Black Heart. I adored the rest of the series. It’s a bit disappointing that it’s finally coming to an end. I completely agree on the covers. In fact the UK ones top any list for me, but the US ones are noir-chic, which is just as good. 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Insurgent and Spell Bound are both on my lists and I do kind of want to read City of Fallen Angels though I have become disappointed with the series. I was able to read an ARC of Grave Mercy and loved it. I hope you will too!

  7. We have some of the same choices, awesome! Insurgent is another I’d add to my list, as well I have to read Clash of Kings too.

  8. Joie @ Joie de Lire

    Oh! Spell Bound was absolutely amazing! You definitely need to read it ASAP!

Leave a Reply

