Mondays With Megan-A Long Weekend, Ukranian Eggs and What I am Reading

I confess, I feel like a bit of a slacker of late. After a rare mid-week day off to attend a preview of The Hunger Games movie (I had a great time and enjoyed the movie very much) and a three-day weekend, it’s time to get back into the swing of things! I certainly kept busy on my days off-a Rocky-style morning in the park (you know, me, the dog, a hill, triumphantly running up and down…), a visit to the aquarium, dinner with friends, a sleepover with my nephews, glow-in-the-dark mini-golf, and the second annual Ukrainian egg decorating extravaganza! I even managed to squeeze in some reading. First some pictures of my eggs. I moved up to the intermediate class this year (which basically meant I was given my supplies and told to make art. Instructions were reserved for the newbies. Dinner was served once we had all made an egg).

I made these last year:

These are the new ones:

So those are my pretties. On to the books. I am joining Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

This week I finished The Treasure Map of Boys by E. Lockhart. The third Ruby Oliver book was as clever and charming as the first two and I am looking forward to the final book in the series.

I continue to plug away at The Walking Dead by Robert Kirkman graphic novel series. I only have two left. What am I going to read after that?!? I am also half way through Y: The Last Man series by fellow Cleveland native Brian Vaughan. This too is another fantastic series. I am taking suggestions for new series to start.

In my car: I am going to finish Supreme Courtship by Christopher Buckley in the next few day. It’s really funny and Anne Heche is a wonderful narrator. I highly recommend this to fans of political satire. I am thinking about moving on to Okay For Now by Gary Schmidt.

The book I need to finish in the next two days because I can’t renew it any more: The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson. The first book in The Shades of London series is so much fun that I won’t have any problem finishing it up this week.

I have two ARCs that I am working on, not very successfully I might add. A Woman of Consequence by Anna Dean and Wanderlove by Kirsten Hubbard. Seriously. It’s now embarrassing that I haven’t finished. Especially since I have Grave Mercy By Robin LaFevers next in my queue. Sigh.

Once I finish The Name of the Star I will have a choice to make. Here is a glimpse of my TBR pile. I am open to suggestions.

Help! That’s only a fraction of the books at home just waiting for my attention. Does one of these stand out as a MUST READ NOW book?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

 

7 responses to “Mondays With Megan-A Long Weekend, Ukranian Eggs and What I am Reading

  1. I would go with The Agency book or Under the Never Sky (curious about that one)

    New follower!
    Stormi
    http://writesthoughts.blogspot.com/2012/03/its-monday-what-are-you-reading_26.html

  2. I have heard excellent things about Patrick Ness’ “Chaos Walking” series. There was a great review of Ness’ “A Monster Calls” at intothehallofbooks.com in which she also commented on the “Chaos Walking” series. It is next in my line to start!

  3. The Ukrainian Eggs look really pretty!

    I haven’t read The Name of the Star yet though it is on my TBR list. I have read Grave Mercy and really liked it. I also loved How to Save a Life and The Traitor in the Tunnel.

    Hope you have a great week!

  4. I say go with The Knife of Never Letting Go because I’ve heard such fantastic things about it, and because I’m starting it in the next few days 🙂

  5. I try to vary my books, so I would go with something radically different from The Name of the Star. Happy Reading!

  6. Knife of Never Letting Go and its sequels are brilliant- I vote for them.
    As for a new GN series- have you read Sandman?

    Happy reading this week!

  7. I’ve only read How to Save a Life of your future books, and it was good but hard to say to read it over others. I liked Treasure Map of Boys, it was my favorite so far in the series, it was actually semi-happy. I just picked up the fourth to read myself.

    I can happily say that I loved Okay For Now! That one is a great book. I love it. Gary Schmidt does a great job. Doug is a great character. I hope you like it!

Leave a Reply

