Mondays With Megan: March in Review and What Are You Reading?

So, have you seen The Hunger Games movie yet? I saw it for the second time last night and enjoyed it just as much as the first time. There were some really good previews too.  I definitely plan to see the new Avengers movie because 1. Thor and 2. It was filmed in my hometown of Cleveland. I can’t wait to see the familiar skyline on the big screen, even if it is getting blown up!

I didn’t get as much reading done in March as I did in January and February, but I did pick some fantastic books. I loved BZRK by Michael Grant, Out of Sight, Out of Time by Ally Carter, Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly, and The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson. I am all caught up on The Walking Dead graphic novel series and I am almost done with Y: Last Man by Bryan Vaughan. I am anxious for a big reveal! I only managed one book review and I failed to finish any of my ARCs, which I feel bad about. I guess this is an opportunity for improvement.

So, what am I working on during this first week of April (besides getting my house ready to host Easter)?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is hosted by Book Journey and a childrens/YA version can be found at Teach Mentor Texts.

In my car: Okay for Now by Gary Schmidt. Here is a little something I am learning about myself. Crazy dystopian stuff does not faze me. I can handle the evil, violence, and horrors of the post-apocalyptic world, but realistic fiction really get to me. Doug’s father and brother really bother me. I am stressed out for the poor kid and his mom. I am very early in the story, so hopefully things will look up for him in the end.

The only book I am reading because it’s due this week and I can’t renew it: The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness. This one comes highly recommended and despite a bit of a slow start for me, I am really getting into it. The story is one big puzzle and the pieces are slowly falling into place.  I am hooked.

The book that I desperately want this week: Black Heart by Holly Black. I want. I want. I want. Please.

I also started a new Playaway this weekend: The Lake of Dreams by Kim Edwards.

I have a lot to do this week, so I am not going to be overly ambitious. What are your plans for the week?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

6 responses to “Mondays With Megan: March in Review and What Are You Reading?

  1. Good to hear some a positive opinion of Bzrk. I have a hold on it and can’t wait to read it! Haven’t read anything by Michael Grant before. The Name of the Star was fun and I love love love Revolution. It was my favorite book from 2010.
    I think you will love Okay for Now once you finish it, and gosh, the Knife of Never Letting Go! That book scarred me for life. Very well-written but a bit too intense for me.

  2. Super interested in The Knife of Never Letting Go, because omg Patrick Ness. Clever blog title!!

    xo,
    La Toya

  3. I didn’t think that BZRK was out yet, I will definitely look for it as it got good reviews. What did you think of it?

    I am a big Patrick Ness fan. The Knife of Never Letting Go is a favorite. It gets so,so exciting at the end, too.

  4. Serious love for Okay For Now. His family life is no fun but it’s a good story. Doug is such a nice kid. I love it. I have Monsters of Men to read and I haven’t been putting it off because I’m afraid the pieces won’t fall into place for me. After the first two, I’m still all confused. It’s an interesting series, though .

    Did you know that Thor and Gale are brothers???? The actor who plays Thor is the actor who plays Gale’s brother! I had no idea. I asked my husband what was the name of the actor who played Gale and he said something Helmsworth…to which I said, no, Helmsworth is Thor. Of course I had to look it up and they are brothers!!!! From Australia. And gorgeous. Totally blew my mind last week.

  5. I have all three Chaos Walking books on my Kindle, thanks to a recent daily deal, but…I’m nervous about starting them? Because the most frequent descriptions I hear from people who have read them is something along the lines of “I was destroyed.” :-/

    I do keep hearing great things about the Curse Workers series. I’ll have to add it to my TBR list. I hope you’re able to track down a copy of Black Heart!

  6. Knife of Never Letting Go is amazing- enjoy! The whole trilogy is so well done.
    Enjoy Okay for Now as well- it is a great story and book!

    Is BZRK out? I’ve been wanting to read it- it looks great. Good to know it is.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

