Top Ten Tuesday: Books to Read in a Day

It’s time for another awesome Top Ten Tuesday list! This week the folks over at The Broke and The Bookish want to hear about books that can be read in a day. You know the books I mean. The ones so riveting that you stay up way past your bedtime to finish. The ones you can’t put down until you know how it all works out. There are a number of authors who write books like that.

1. The Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter. I have devoured each one in a single sitting and then felt twitchy with anxiety when I realized how long I would have to wait for another one. I am twitching now, in fact. Out of Sight was so fantastic and now, sigh….The long wait begins. Hopefully there will be a Heist Society book soon to help with the wait.

2. The Paranormalcy trilogy by Kiersten White. First of all, thank you Kiersten for writing an honest to goodness trilogy. With three books. Start. Middle. End. Despite my deep love for Evie and Lend, I appreciate that their story will never get old and tired just for the sake of more books. Now, hurry up and give me something new!

3. Where She Went by Gayle Forman. I really enjoyed If I Stay, but I loved Adam’s story. I read it straight through and was actually tempted to immediately start it again.

4. The Drake Chronicles by Alyxandra Harvey. Boy do I love those Drake vampires. Smokin’ hot  guys and kick-a** female characters. It’s the perfect combo for me.

5. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. I have seen this on a few lists today. It’s on mine for a little different reason. I had to read this in one go or else I would not have finished it. There was no way I was putting myself through that emotional wringer more than once.

6. Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier and Hourglass by Myra McEntire. Is time travel the new black? I think yes. Both of these awesome time travel books will suck you in and leave you anxious for more (there will be more!).

7. The Ruins of Gorlan by John Flanagan. The first book in The Ranger’s Apprentice series is a slim volume and a quick read. The books get longer (and better) as the series progresses, but the first one can be read in a day.

8. 12 Things to Do Before You Crash and Burn by James Proimos. This short little book certainly packs a punch.

9. The Ruby Oliver series by E. Lockhart. Oh, Ruby, you hilarious unlucky-in-love girl. I still need to read the last one, but I have high hopes for Ruby.

10. Legend by Marie Lu. There are tons of great dystopian novels out there today and this is just one of many that I found to be a page-turner.

Now, if Rick Riordan and Michael Grant did not write such ginormous books (not complaining, I love a hefty tome), they would be on this list too! And if I had more numbers left I would add Pop by Gordon Korman and The Curse Workers series by Holly Black and, and, and…..I must be stopped.

Happy Reading!

3 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books to Read in a Day

  1. You did The Gallagher Girls too! I love them. My new one should be here in 6 days and I don’t know how I can wait. But I guess since I’ve waited 2 years a couple more days shouldn’t hurt. You are right Ally Carter is so awesome. Thanks for stopping by The Lonely Bookshelf.

  2. milkmaidcowgirl

    Hello! It’s Jessica from http://bizarreandbabbling.blogspot.com/

    What a fantastic list, I definitely just added “Ruby Red” and “Hourglass” to my list! I love a good time travel book, seen clearly by the creases in the spines of all my Outlander books!

    Following along!, J

  3. Great picks! I’ve read only Paranormalcy so far & almost all of these are on my wishlist, so I better read them soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

