Mondays with Megan-After Easter Candy-Coated Sugar High Edition

For the past three years the responsibility of hosting Easter has fallen on my shoulders. I am not complaining; my poor sister got Christmas, which is a much bigger deal in my family. My holiday is so much easier because

1. Decorating consists of getting my sister to cut a branch off of her tree, sticking it in a vase, and hanging some hand painted eggs on it. I also have an ever-growing collection of Easter towels.

2. This is what my appetizers look like:

 

You didn’t know chocolate counted as an appetizer? At my house it does!

3. Side dishes get out sourced, so I just buy the meat.

I am about to make a point here, I promise. My point is, this is not a big deal, and yet, for some insane reason I could not sleep Saturday night. This was very annoying because I was tired, but the bright side here is that I was able to finish Black Heart by Holly Black! See how I did that? It’s my clever segue into It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? Hosted by Book Journey, with a children’s/YA version at Teach Mentor Texts, this meme is a fun way to let everyone know what you have recently read, what you plan to read, and find new things to add to you To Read lists. Also, it’s a list. I love lists.

   

Finished last week:

1. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness. This one came highly recommended, so I was nervous when it got off to a weird start for me. Once I got over the dialect and poor spelling, I couldn’t stop! The only thing keeping me from immediately grabbing the next one was my extensive TBR list. Trust me, I will get to it very soon.

2. Black Heart by Holly Black. I have talked about The Curse Works series a lot recently, because, you know, IT IS FREAKING AMAZING AND EVERYONE SHOULD READ IT. Sorry to yell, but it’s that important. The third book does not disappoint! What I now need to know is this-is that the end for real or will there be more? Sigh. I even forgot about the stupid cover for a while.

This Week:

In my car: Okay for Now by Gary Schmidt. I am about half way through. I really like it and I love Doug, but it still continues to leave me on edge. Heartbreaking discoveries aside, I am constantly waiting for the other shoe to drop. Just like Doug, I suppose. This book had better have a super awesome rainbows and unicorns and ice cream ending, because I am not sure I can handle it if not.  I think I may need a Stephanie Plum fix after this.

At Work: Spell Bound by Rachel Hawkins. I actually started the final book in the Hex Hall trilogy last night. I anticipate flying through this one. In fact, it will probably be my only book until it is finished.

Walking the Dog: Gideon’s Corpse by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. I did not realize that this is the second in a new series, but by the time I figured it out I was already invested, so I am sticking with it. The dialogue is a bit cheesy, but it’s a fast-paced thriller that keeps me walking.

My Graphic Novels for the week: Y: Last Man by Brian Vaughan, vol. 8, 9, and 10.

 

The e-book I will finally finish. I swear.: Wanderlove by Kirsten Hubbard. I am in the home stretch and it’s gotten really good. I can’t wait to see how things end up for Bria. I am rooting for her!

And if I have time, I would really like to start From Bad to Cursed by Katie Alender or Putting Makeup on Dead People by Jen Violi.

What are you all reading this week?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

7 responses to “Mondays with Megan-After Easter Candy-Coated Sugar High Edition

  1. I can’t wait to read Black Heart. I was so suprised by how good the Curse Workers series is! I haven’t read any of the Hex Hall books, but I do want to. I can’t wait to hear how you like the sequel to The Knife of Never Letting Go. Still haven’t managed to read it. Manchee probably affected me more than any other animal in a book ever. Ness is such a great writer.

  2. I’m not familiar with any of your books this week, so I’ll have to check them out.

    Hope you have a good week!
    Kristin @ Always With a Book

  3. WOW! That’s a lot of reading! Cannot wait till my copy of Black Heart gets here! I hope to overlook the cover change but think it is RUINING my set!! I wished they would have just changed the paperbacks and left the HC alone!

  4. Holly Black is an author I’ve been wanting to try….I’ve also heard good things about The Knife of Letting Go.

    Enjoy!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  5. The cover of Wanderlove looks so whimsical. I’m glad you are enjoying it.
    PS – I’m glad you had a great Easter. I always have lots of fun at our big family Easter dinners.

  6. I love hearing about people reading my favorites for the first time. I love Okay For Now. I have been using it as a mentor text with some middle schoolers and just lent it to a co-worker. I am excited for her to read it, too. Don’t you just love Doug? Have you read Wednesday Wars? I love that book, too.

    I am so glad I don’t have to host any holidays. Thankfully my parents still host everything. I like parties but they can get crazy and my life is crazy enough just trying to get my kiddos dressed for a holiday event. I’m not going to be able to stop thinking about you listening to Okay For Now…and now I’m curious how the audio is. I read the ARC but may have to go get the audio to hear how the narration is.

  7. That looks like my kind of appetizer. Actually, that looks a lot like my lunch yesterday. Have you read any of Holly Black’s other works? I was wondering how it compared with Tithe

Leave a Reply

