Mondays With Megan-YALSA 2012 Teen Top Ten Nominees and What Are You Reading?

Holy moly! Did the weekend fly by in a blur or is it just me? I did manage to squeeze in some reading and I am heading to the shelves today to get some fresh books for the week. But before I do, let’s talk about the 2012 Teen Top Ten list. YALSA announced the nominees last week-24 in all. Now it’s time to go forth and READ so we are ready to vote in August and September. The winners will be announced during Teen Read Week in October.  The TTT are chosen by teens, so all you adult YA lovers, you’ll just have to sit this one out. Here’s the list of nominees. I haven’t read them all, but I will check the titles I would pick, if I were allowed to vote.

And the nominees are…
All Good Children by Catherine Austen
Ashes by Isla Bick (TBR)
Abandon by Meg Cabot
Tempest by Julie Cross
What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen
Wither by Lauren DeStefano
Where She Went by Gayle Forman
Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen (TBR)
Eona:The Last Dragoneye by Alison Goodman
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Page by Paige by Laura Lee Gulledge
Legend by Marie Lu
Hourglass by Myra McEntire
Cinder by Marissa Meyer
Shine by Lauren Myracle
A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (TBR)
This Dark Endeavor by Kenneth Oppel
Across the Universe by Beth Revis (TBR)
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Riggs Ransom
Divergent by Veronica Roth
Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys
The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater
How to Save a Life by Sara Zarr (TBR)
All These Things I’ve Done by Gabrielle Zevin

That’s only 8! I need to get reading! What your top ten picks be? Moving on.

 

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is hosted by Book Journey  and a Children’s/YA edition can be found at Teach Mentor Text.

In my car: I am so close to finishing Okay For Now by Gary Schmidt. In fact, I am pretty sure my 10 minute drive home tonight will be enough. This one has been a real emotional roller coaster! I think I need some Stephanie Plum. I always know what I am going to get with her. So, up next High Five by Janet Evanovich.

My At Work Read: Today at lunch I finished Spell Bound by Rachel Hawkins. I really lingered over this one and I don’t want it to be over. I have enjoyed the Hex Hall series a lot and look forward to Ms. Hawkins’ future endeavors. My next book will be The Traitor and The Tunnel, book three in The Agency mystery series by Y. S. Lee.

At Home: An Irish Country Doctor by Patrick Taylor. This is my gentle read selection for book club. So far so good, as I had expected.

My new graphic novel series: Locke & Key by Joe Hill. I wrapped up Y: Last Man by Brain Vaughan this weekend and I’m still waiting for new Walking Dead and Fables, so it’s on to something new in the meantime.

I must be needing a little break from YA since I only have one on my list for the week. Once I am finished with Traitor I want to read either From Bad to Cursed by Katie Alender, The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore, or Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness. I am feeling the need to catch up on some series!

What are you all reading this week?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

8 responses to “Mondays With Megan-YALSA 2012 Teen Top Ten Nominees and What Are You Reading?

  1. Wow, you juggle a lot of books at one time! Good for you! I just finished the Agency books earlier this month. I so enjoyed them. I read on her website that Y.S. Lee is planning a fourth and final installment of the series! Yay!

  2. I was so excited to see the Teens Top 10 List! So far I’ve read 15, but I’m determined to read them all this year! I suppose my favorite would be A Monster Calls, but there are so many good books on the list.

    I’ve only read the first book in the Agency series, which I didn’t completely love, but I still kind of want to read the other 2 books. I *want* to love it because I have always adored mysteries and there are so few good ones for teenagers. I still find myself recommending the series often to teens looking for a mystery. I’ll be eager to hear how you like The Traitor and the Tunnel.

  3. Hey there!

    Thanks for stopping by Flirting in Italian was cute, much different that I thought it would be. You can check out my review here.

  4. LOVE that you shared the TTT list and your plans to complete it. I think I may follow your lead. I’ve already read six of them.
    Ruth

  5. I wish I could vote! My choices would be:
    Between Shades of Gray
    Shine
    Divergent
    Wither
    Fault in our Stars
    Page by Paige
    Ashes
    How to Save a Life
    Where she Went
    A Monster Calls
    (although they are the only ones I’ve read, so I guess I’d have to vote for them. They were all good though!)

  6. Love a good Janet Evanovich 🙂 She’s always pretty funny.

    Did you like Miss Peregrine? I went to MLA in October and it seemed like that was the book everyone had in their purse – so I picked it up. A good story but it was kinda wild. 🙂

    Happy reading this week!

    It’s Monday! What are you reading at the Brunette Librarian!

  7. You have a nice mix of books here – enjoy!

  8. Love Janet Evanovich. Honestly I’ve only read the first one so far, but I loved it!! I have the next several waiting for me to get to them. Happy reading this week! 🙂

    Lisa @ Lost in Literature

Leave a Reply

