Top Ten Tuesday: Tips For New Bloggers

It’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday list. Thanks to the bloggers at The Broke and The Bookish for hosting this weekly bit of list-making joy. This week I am actually more interested in reading the lists than writing one. Weird, but true. You see, this week is all about blogging tips for new book bloggers, and while I am not exactly new to blogging, I am always looking for ways to improve. But, if you were to ask me for advice, this is what I would say:

1. Do it because you want to, not for the fame and glory. Fame and glory are exhausting….or so I’m told. Also, I really have no idea how to achieve F&G as a blogger. Thank goodness I have my illustrious library career to fall back on.

2. Post titles are important. I learned this one by accident. A while back I needed a filler post. I had been slacking and I was planning on going on vaca, so I whipped up a little post about how a bunch of new mermaid books were coming out. I titled it Move Over Vampires, the Mermaids Are Coming. That thing gets hits like crazy. Still. The moral of the story is, good titles get good hits. Also people are obsessed with mermaids. Who knew?

3. Read other blogs. Get an idea of what other bloggers are doing, but don’t steal their ideas!

4. And once you find some blogs that you like, start leaving comments. Bloggers love getting comments and will usually pop over the commenter’s blog and leave a comment and just like that you’ll have new blog friends.

5. Find a fun meme or two to join. The are great for a couple of reasons. First, they can help you plan your posts, which is very helpful and they direct traffic to your blog. Win-win.

6. Be patient. This one is the hardest part. Book blogs are a dime a dozen. They are everywhere! You are a small fish in a big sea and it’s going to take time to set yourself apart from the rest. Good luck with that. In the meantime, just keep plugging along…

7. Do it because you love it and don’t worry about how many followers you have. That kind of goes along with #6.

8. Don’t be afraid to try new things. When I first started I rated all my books, but after a while I decided to stop that and simplify. It seems to be working out fine. On the other hand, I have joined memes that didn’t bring any new traffic to my blog, so I stopped doing them.

9. Decide what kind of reviews you want to write and stick with. i.e. spoilery, long and detailed, short and sweet, only positive….I try to keep mine spoiler free and short and sweet. I like to read tons of blogs and I usually skim over the very long reviews and look for a rating at the bottom. And yet, I don’t rate my own. Hmm. May need to rethink that idea!

10. Add pictures. I like pictures, but stealing them is wrong….says the thief. So, so as I say, not as I just did. I tell ya, this blogging business can sure me tricky.

Now, I am off in search of some good advice! Good luck to you.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

4 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Tips For New Bloggers

  1. Great list- your tips are hilarious and practical at the same time! Hooray for the illustrious library career… we librarians are a glamorous bunch. 🙂

  2. I really wish I could come up with clever titles, but they usually end up boring and servicable. Great list of tips!

  3. I wish I was more clever at coming up with titles, but they usually end up just boring but servicable. And definitely the illustrious library career will bring fame and glory and loads of money, too 🙂

  4. I’m going back and reading through these lists and I have to say this is one of my favorites! We’ve only been blogging a few weeks, but I don’t like to do things half way.

    Also I love your name. I once played trivia against a team called “OBG-why-not?” It reminds me of that! Hilarious!

Leave a Reply

