Mondays With Megan: Technology Overload Edition and What Are You Reading?

Another busy weekend has come to an end and it’s back to the grindstone. I was a little disappointed that I was unable to participate in the Dewey’s Readathon this time around, but I was too busy kicking it with some of Cleveland’s finest authors. Maybe you’ve heard of Les Roberts? Yeah, we’re besties now. I had the good fortune to introduce him at the Rocky River Public Library Book Festival. I also brought him lots of coffee and a pilfered cookie. Like I said, besties. And speaking of good fortune, I won a Nook Color. So now, my TBR pile can be both physical and virtual! Add this to the fun little ipod my friend gave me, and I am in a state of technological overload. What do I read first? A book? In paper or on a device? Which device? Mind you, I am NOT complaining. I realize how fortunate I am to have these “problems.” The best part is going to be shopping for e-books for myself and the library. In fact, as soon as I am done here I am off to browse. So, what am I reading?

 

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is hosted by Book Journey. A Children’s/YA version is available at Teach Mentor Text.

Ongoing books: I am still listening to High Five by Janet Evanovich (reliably good fun) and Gideon’s Corpse by Douglas Preston (and it is still the cheesiest, chock-full-of-cliche book I have ever read. But I press on. I need to know who did it.)

 

Finished this week: An Irish Country Doctor by Patrick Taylor. I picked this as my gentle read for book club. It was charming and funny and I will definitely continue on with the series.

On my ipod: Ashes by Ilsa Bick. This one has gotten great reviews. My friend loved it and insisted I read it. So far, so good…and a bit gross. The perfect balance to my gentle read.

On my Nook: An e-galley of Dead Time by Anne Cassidy. A mystery set in modern-day London.

My real, live, actual paper and glue book: The List by Siobhan Vivian.  The ultimate Mean Girl book. Sort of breaks my heart a little and makes me realize that I got off easy in high school.

Up next: The Power of Six by Pitticus Lore. In paper.

What are you reading?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

3 responses to “Mondays With Megan: Technology Overload Edition and What Are You Reading?

  1. The List looks very like an intriguing read. Mean girl stories are great gateways for opening conversations with students, parents, teachers, and children.

    Is Rocky River part of the Cuyahoga County Library System? Is it a CleveNet library? We visit both, but I’ve never been to the Rocky River Library! I need to add it to my list of local libraries to visit!

  2. Congratulations on winning the Nook Color! I have a Kindle and now I usually am reading one book on the Kindle and one in print. Right now I’m reading Touch of Power on the Kindle. I will be reading The List soon. I’m really glad that my high school didn’t have anything like that though we did have our share of meanness. I have an ARC of Dead Time but I have no idea when I’m going to get to it. I do like mysteries though.

  3. That’s awesome that you won a Nook!!!! Very cool. I’m jealous (even though I have the Nook). What a great prize. I find it hard to juggle all the different reading modes, too. I barely read on my Nook. Sometimes I get into kicks, but otherwise, I don’t use it much. I did take it on vacation – I had one short book for non-device times on the plane and then my Nook for all other times during my vacation. It was great for traveling.

Leave a Reply

