Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Want to See on the Big Screen

It’s Top Ten Tuesday! This week The Broke and the Bookish want to know which books we think would make awesome movies (true to my cheater self I also added some that I think would make awesome tv shows). I will only do this list on one condition: Hollywood has to promise not to screw any of these up! Seriously, don’t Percy Jackson any of these or else I’ll, I’ll… Oh hell, let’s face it, I can’t do a darn thing about it. But really, don’t mess them up. You are welcome for the suggestions. They rock. So, Lights! Camera! Action!

1. Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld. At first I thought, hmm, Uglies, because hooverboards, right? But actually, I think the Leviathan series would be a more breathtakingly amazing film. Can you imagine it? Also, Mr. Westerfeld was kind enough to include blueprints. You’re welcome set and props crew. I’m not saying no to Uglies, either. Unless they plan to screw it up. In that case, leave my favorite series alone please.

2. Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi. The part where they realize that there are buildings under them? I sort of had a Star Wars moment in my head then. Also, I would like to see what they do with Tool.

3. Beauty Queens by Libba Bray. How could you not want to see this as a movie? I mean, the script practically writes itself! I am sure there is some leftover Lost stuff that they could reuse. I think this may be my best suggestion of the day. Please do it.

4.  Hourglass by Myra McEntire. I think the world is ready for another “I see dead people” movie, don’t you? Also, there is the whole redacted  thing. And Michael? Mmmmm.

5. I am the Messenger by Marcus Zusak. I don’t know, I just really like Ed Kennedy and ever since I listened to if I can’t stop associating Jesse Spencer with Ed. No, he did not narrate, and it’s probably really stupid American of me, but Ed is Australian, Jesse is Australian, and the guy who narrated is Australian…see where I am going with this. I am not proud of it, but it’s the shameful truth-they all sound the same to me apparently!

6. The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan. This would make one hell of a zombie movie. Someone should get on that. I am sure there are plenty of disappointed Walking Dead extras who have been killed off already and need to put their amazing zombie skills to use.

7. Heist Society by Ally Carter. Maybe it’s time for a tough, female lead who doesn’t have to be in a kill or be killed situation all the time? I mean, there is danger, and all, but there is also much more humor and kissing as well. I think it’s a smashing idea.

8. The Knife if Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness. I would like to see someone try to make the whole Noise thing work without driving the audience crazy, because if they can do that, this would make an awesome and suspenseful movie!

 

9. Blood Red Road by Moira Young. One of my favorite underappreciated books. This film would be awesome-a quest, cage fighting, battles, a hilarious and handsome guy…what more do you want?

10. Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers. The Ultimate Mean Girls. The danger here is that it has the potential to turn into an After School Special.

Ok, time for the bonus round-book series that would make awesome tv shows.

1. The Spellman Files by Lisa Lutz. A family of dysfunctional private investigators. Yes.

2. The Ranger’s Apprentice by John Flanagan. House is wrapping up, maybe Hugh Laurie would like to play Halt?

3. Gone by Michael Grant. Oh, what a creeptastic show this would make.

4. White Cat by Holly Black. I really need more of the Curse Workers.

What do you think?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

11 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Want to See on the Big Screen

  1. Great list! 🙂 I’ve never heard of Some Girls Are but will be looking into it, Thanks

  2. Beauty Queens and Heist Society would make awesomely entertaining movies. 🙂

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting! =)
    I’ve wanted to read Beauty Queens, Heist Society and Hourglass for a long time but haven’t picked them up yet… They all seem pretty awesome!

  4. I have Leviathan to read, and I’m insanely excited to get to it! I read the synopsis and then began thinking about how well it would translate into a movie!

    Thanks for stopping by!

  5. I thought Beauty Queens as a book was just okay, but I think it would be a awesome movie. I think it should have been written as a screenplay for a movie. I really want to read Blood Red Road but from the summary you can tell it would make a brilliant movie. Thanks for visiting my post!

  6. I totally agree with your “Percy Jackson” reference. I had The Kane Chronicles in my top ten (http://kristinharkins.blogspot.com) as long as it didn’t turn out like Percy Jackson did!

  7. Thanks for visiting my blog! I’ve been wanting to read Blood Red Road for a while now and Hourglass would make an amazing movie! Awesome list. 🙂

  8. notsoteenreads

    Heist Society would be an awesome movie! It almost made my list, but I ran out of room. And White Cat ANYTHING! I love it so much.

  9. Leviathan!!! Totally on board with that. Would it be better to be live action or a cartoon, though… Also, White Cat as a TV series would rock!

  10. I completely forgot about The Forest of Hands and Teeth! I would LOVE to see that as a movie! I thought about Heist Society as well; that book was greatness!

  11. I need to check out Heist Society! I haven’t read it.

Leave a Reply

