Mondays with Megan-Free Comic Book Day Review and What are You Reading?

In case you missed it, Saturday was Free Comic Book Day. Rocky River Public Library participated in this national event for the first time-with great success! I want to send a big thank you to Carol & John’s Comic Book Shop for helping me plan my big day. In addition to all the free guidance and advice, they helped me purchase the comics to give out, provided me with some beautiful advertising materials, and donated two hardcover Spiderman books to raffle off. Our event was a success and we will definitely be celebrating Free Comic Book Day from now on!

My display. The free Spiderman book is in the lower left.

  The AWESOME poster from Carol & John!

The New 52, The Avengers and Superman Family were all available for free at the library.

What do you do with old comic books? Make buttons! I had about 40 people, young and young at heart stop in to make buttons. Another 30 stayed for popcorn and a Batman movie. About 200 free comics went to new homes. All in all-success and I am already brainstorming ideas for next year.

Ok, bragging time over. Let’s move on to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? This weekly meme is hosted by Book Journey and a children’s/YA version can be found at Teach Mentor Texts.

 

What I finished:

Timepiece: An Hourglass Novel by Myra McEntire and I am Legend by Richard Matheson.

 

Currently reading:

In my car: Sacré Bleu by Christopher Moore. Bawdy, irreverent fun. Absurd reality mixed with absurd fiction. Entertaining and has a fantastic reader. This one doesn’t seem to be a fan favorite, but I am enjoying it very much.

For book club: House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer. This is a reread for me, and it’s just as good as I remember it being. I hope my teens like it too. I should finish up tonight.

Before I meet the author: Thou Shalt Not Road Trip by Antony John. He’s the keynote speaker at a conference this week. After an awesome Skye interview with my book club I am excited to get meet him in person. I’ll have this done before Thursday.

While walking the dog: The Langoliers by Stephen King.

And of course, lots and lots of ebooks. I am currently working on Flirting in Italian by Lauren Henderson and The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa.

 

On Deck:

  

My head is swimming with all of this! That’s all for now. What are you reading?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

11 responses to “Mondays with Megan-Free Comic Book Day Review and What are You Reading?

  1. Sounds like Free Comic Book Day was lots of fun! Love those cute buttons. I hear I Hunt Killers is awesome. Happy reading and listening!

  2. Wow, what a week for you! I read Christopher’s Moore’s A Dirty Job and thought it was very funny! I bet his books are great on audio.

    And I LOVED House of the Scorpion (as did my husband and son) – fabulous book!

    I have never read Thou Shalt Not Road Trip, but I am intrigued since we take a long road trip out west every summer and I love to read about road trips while we travel!

    Enjoy your books this week –

    Sue

    Great Books for Kids and Teens

    Book By Book

  3. I’m glad Free Comic Book Day was a success. It sounds like a fantastic program! I’ll have to see if our teen librarian wants to participate in Free Comic Book Day next year.

    Flirting in Italian looks like a fun book-maybe a good pick for fans of Anna and the French Kiss. I also hope to read The Serpent’s Shadow soon. I am currently rereading The Red Pyramid.

    I hope you have a good time at your conference. I was thinking about attending that one but we are short staffed this week and since I no longer do programming for teens (I just select YA books now) I decided not to. It sounds like so much fun. Have a great week!

  4. Unfortunately I didn’t make it anywhere for Free Comic Day, but I will next year for sure!!
    Timepiece is on my TBR list, and I’ve seen a lot of Twitter talk about I Hunt Killers…just scared it might be too scary for me (I’m a big chicken). I saw Thou Shalt Not Road Trip at B&N and was intrigued. Can’t wait to see what you thought!

  5. I am so glad Free Comic Book Day worked out for you- I love the idea behind the day and I am so mad that I missed it this year.

    Sacre Bleu sounds so funny and I’ll definitely be putting it on my list of Moore books I am going to request from the library.

    I hope to get to Serpent’s Shadow soon, but I still haven’t read Son of Neptune. I hope it (along with Bitterblue and Insurgent) fit in.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

  6. VERY very smart idea! I was checking the stats at my library a few weeks ago and realized that graphic novels account for 28% of my circulation. I was blown away! 🙂 Great idea, I may have to do something like that at my library.

    Happy reading this week 🙂
    What are YOU reading??

  7. I wish I could read at work without feeling guilty, which is a really silly thing for a librarian to say. I am reading Iron King right now and I’m enjoying it so far.

  8. Antony John is one of our neighborhood authors at my bookstore, and you will not be disappointed to meet him in person. Just a lovely man (not to mention a talented writer).

  9. You had such great ideas for Free Comic Book Day! I am going to try to organize something at my library for next year. I never even considered it until I read your post. Thanks for the inspiration!

  10. I love your ideas. I am a librarian in a HS and I am going to use some of these with my book club kids next year. Hope you don’t mind. I especially love the button idea!

  11. I love your ideas! I love the buttons and now I am following you, so I can use some of these with my kids in book club.

Leave a Reply

