Mondays With Megan-Pre-Zombie Walk Jitters and What are You Reading

Happy Monday everyone. Confession time: I am trying a new program with my teens and I am a little nervous about it. Tomorrow afternoon I am having my first ever Zombie Walk, complete with homemade zombie makeup. I now it’s going to be fine, but I am sure there will be kinks. Since I have never done this before I have no idea what to expect. I have ten teens signed up, which I initially found disappointing. Upon further thought I changed my mind-this is a great number! I need to take baby shuffles and lurches, figure out what works, and what needs improving before I release a teenaged zombie horde on the unsuspecting neighborhood of Rocky River, Ohio. So, wish me luck tonight as I concoct fake skin, blood, and open wounds out of the items found in my kitchen-tapioca flour, corn starch, corn syrup, lotion, food coloring, oatmeal, coffee grounds, gelatin, and more. I’ll take pictures and post recipe links tomorrow!

On to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? This weekly meme is hosted by Book Journey and a Children’s/YA version is found at Teach Mentor Texts.

What I finished: The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer, Sacré Bleu by Christopher Moore, and Thou Shalt Not Road Trip by Antony John. All very different, all very enjoyable.

In my car: I was without audio all weekend (I grabbed the wrong BOCD on Friday and didn’t get back to work until today) and I was a bit twitchy because of it. Radio is really terrible! Today I will start Silence by Becca Fitzpatrick. This is the third book in her Hush, Hush series. I really need to start catching up on some series. I have way to many started and it’s starting to stress me out.

My paper book: The Serpent’s Shadow by Rick Riordan. The third and final installment of the Kane Chronicles! I am excited to read this one!

My e-books: The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa. This is the third book in the Iron Fey series. I will probably move straight on to The Iron Knight when I am finished, which will get me caught up. I am still working on Flirting in Italian by Lauren Henderson. I should finish this week and then I will start Dead Time by Anne Cassidy.

What I hope to get this week, even if I don’t have time to read them: Insurgent by Veronica Roth and City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare. How have I not read these yet? Sigh. So busy, so many books.

When am I going to do all this reading!?! What are you reading this week?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

5 responses to “Mondays With Megan-Pre-Zombie Walk Jitters and What are You Reading

  1. Good luck with the zombie walk. Your reading is so varied…good for you!

  2. What a great selection of books! I really like Kagawa’s Iron Fey books. Like you I have too many series started. But I have decided that mostly I’ll just read one so that I have something to talk to my students about and then let them tell me about the rest of the series. There aren’t very many that I feel I have to finish. Here is my Monday Report. Happy reading!

  3. You have many of the must read books on your pile that I do- I cannot wait to get to Insurgent and Serpent’s Shadow.

    Happy reading this week 🙂

  4. The zombie walk is such a great idea! I, too, am jumping on the zombie bandwagon with my teen programming and doing a whole Zombie Week this summer. I never thought of doing zombie makeup. I think I might steal that idea if it’s ok with you.
    Great books you’re reading too. I really enjoyed The House of the Scorpion and have been looking at Thou Shalt Not Road Trip. Can’t decide if I want to read it or not. He’s the author who wrote 5 flavors of dumb, right?
    I am HORRIBLE at reading complete series. I generally read the first if the series is popular, but by the time the second comes out, I have forgotten what was in the first book and I hate rereading unless it’s a book I absolutely love.

  5. Lucky to find this post, thanks for post

Leave a Reply

