My Horde of Teenaged Zombies Wants to Eat Your Brains

That’s right. I organized a horde of teenaged zombies and it was AWESOME. This was my first time organizing an event like this so I wanted to share what worked and what I would do differently. I highly recommend trying this program with your teens. They will love it, you will love it, and your budget will love it too-it is very inexpensive to organize.

The grocery store and the dollar store are your friends. With the exception of some green Halloween makeup that I bought on sale after Halloween last year, everything else was homemade or bought at the dollar store. I started with recipes that I found online, but ended up tweaking them. I am pleased with the results.

White base: Dollar Store cold cream and tapioca flour. I used the tapioca flour because I had bought some for a fake skin recipe that didn’t work out so well. Cornstarch works just fine (I tried it) and I imagine regular flour would too. I think I ended up with approximately a 2:1 ratio, flour to cold cream. 1 jar was enough for all 12 of my zombies, with cold cream to spare for makeup removal at the end. Most of my kids opted for green, so I didn’t use as much white as I thought. I liked how it looked when I blended the two together. The white base made a great paste to “glue” fake wounds to arms. It didn’t stick so well on faces; I will have to work on a solution for that.

  

Fake wounds: Knox gelatin, red food coloring, cocoa powder. I mixed 1 packet of gelatin with 2 TBS of boiling water, stirred until it dissolved, added a few drops of color, then immediately spooned it onto waxed paper. These were bright red, fresh wounds. I repeated the process and added a pinch of cocoa powder to the second batch and got a disgusting color that resembled old, drying blood. So awesome. I also tried mixing coffee grounds into the plain gelatin for a dirt-speckled flesh effect.

     

Fake Blood: Light corn syrup, cocoa powder, and red food coloring. I mixed 1 cup of corn syrup with 4 drops of food coloring and about TSP of cocoa powder. You can always add more cocoa powder to make it darker. We used this to paint blood onto old shirts. When I do this program in the future I will either find a non-sticky recipe or paint the blood on the shirts myself ahead of time so that it is thoroughly dry before the teens wear them. Another solution is to suggest that they either wear old clothes underneath or just change into their bloody shirt. They shirts looked great, but we did have some issues with the syrup stick to the clothes.

 

What else do  you need?
paper plates (each student got their own palate of face paints)
Q-Tips (for applying lipstick and makeup)
make up sponges
small mirrors (I had 8 for them to share, bought at dollar store)
black eyeshadow
red lipstick (I cut small slices off the tube and put them on plates-NO sharing lip stuff!)
black and red lip liner or eye liner pencils
make up removal wipes
cold cream
plastic head bands
old clothes
scissors (for shredding clothes)
paint brushes (for painting blood onto clothes)

I spent about $20 on the entire program and have supplies left over to do it again.

Be sure to let me know if you have a successful Zombie Walk and share any tips or ideas you have!

 

Zombie Reading List:

The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan
This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers
Rot & Ruin by Jonathon Maberry
Z by Michael Thomas Ford
Zombigami: Paper Folding for the Living Dead by Duy Nguyen
Ashes by Ilsa Bick
How to Be a Zombie: The Official Guide for Anyone Who Craves Brains by Serena Valentino
I Kissed a Zombie, and I Liked It by Adam Selzer
The Enemy by Charles Higson
You Are So Undead to Me by Stacey Jay
Never Slow Dance With a Zombie by Ehrich Van Lowe
Generation Dead by Dan Waters

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

2 responses to “My Horde of Teenaged Zombies Wants to Eat Your Brains

  1. That sounds like SO much FUN!!! I love your ideas – bookmarking this page too so I can save these zombified recipes for later 🙂

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Me, Revealed Through Blog Posts | YA? Why Not?

Leave a Reply

