Mondays With Megan: Yard Work Trumps Reading, A What Are You Reading Sob Story

It’s Monday, which means it’s time to check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

 

I get a big fat fail for last week’s reading. What was I doing last week? Seriously, why did I not read? It’s all a bit of a blur, but I am going to blame 1. work (always blame work, it cuts into a lot of reading time!) 2. The Game of Thrones, season 1, and 3. yard work (always blame yard work, it is a necessary evil of homeownership and it really cuts into reading time).

The one and only book I finished last week: The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa. I really liked this third book in the series. I can’t wait to find out what happens with our heroine Meghan and her beloved. I should add that faery stories are not typically my cup of tea, but I have thoroughly enjoyed this unique, modern take on the traditional fae story. I highly recommend it.

I did make progress with my audiobooks. I am about half way through Silence by Becca Fitzpatrick. I am not sure how far along I am in Defending Jacob by William Landay. I am really enjoying both books.

  

Ok, now it is time for some serious book commitments for the week! I have two books that are due back at the library this week that I want to finish.

Books I will finish this week: The Serpent’s Shadow by Rick Riordan and I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga. Now that I am no longer ashamed to be seen in my front yard, I am committed to lots of evening porch reading this week.

 

The e-book I will finish this week: Flirting in Italian by Lauren Henderson.

Finally, as if this is not ambitious enough, I need to start a romance for my genre book discussion at work. I am thinking about reading The Little Lady Agency by Hester Browne.

Please wish me luck this week! I have high hopes for reading success and I need to accomplish them. I already feel like a slacker for not having read Insurgent or City of Lost Souls yet. Sigh.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

5 responses to “Mondays With Megan: Yard Work Trumps Reading, A What Are You Reading Sob Story

  1. Cannot wait to hear what you think of I Hunt Killers. I really want to read it, but it sort of scares me. Glad to hear your opinion on The Iron Queen and that series. It’s really popular at my library, but I have never actually picked it up to read for myself.

  2. Wow! So many books. Firstly Silence. I’m not sure if after Hush, Hush if I want to finish the trilogy but I know I definitely want to know what all the hype’s about in regards to Rick Riordan’s books but I’m looking to read The Percy Jackson and ther Olympians series. And finally I’m loving the look of The Little Lady Agency. And don’t feel bad about not having read The CIty of Lost Souls or Insurgent! Neither have I! We’re in the same boat together!

  3. It looks to me like you’re managing a lot of reading, including the audio, but maybe it’s just not your usual. And, BTW, I am just now reading Divergent, so don’t feel too bad. I need to read that Riordan book-it looks interesting.

  4. I feel behind for not reading Insurgent or Bitterblue yet…but things do get crazy. I planted begonias in our front yard and some herbs in the back this weekend. It was the weekend for getting plants in the ground. Now I just have to hope I don’t kill them…I’m so bad with plants. I need to listen to more audiobooks, I think!

  5. For not having a reading week it sounds to me like you got a lot of reading covered or nearly covered. I think sometimes, when I’m in the middle of a long audiobook I feel like I am stuck.

Leave a Reply

