Mondays With Megan-Summer is Here! What Are You Reading?

Sarah Amazing, Teen Librarian Extraordinaire, jazzed up the Summer Reading Theme art. Thanks for sharing! I am excited to kick off summer reading this Friday.

The home stretch to summer vacation is officially upon us. Students, teachers, and parents hang in there! As for me, I am throwing the finishing touches on my summer library programs. The summer reading prizes are all wrapped up and ready to go, my shopping list for my Own the Night Library Lock-In Party is ready supplies shopping is done (pizza, s’mores fixin’s, glow in the dark paint) and I am working on a list of Summer Must Reads to share with my teens. Looking ahead to July, I will be co-hosting a Teen/Adult book club (we will be reading and discussing The Cardturner by Louis Sachar) and teaching a Lego Mindstorm® Robotics class. I am taking it easy in August (I will be busy finalizing plans for the Teen Advisory Group I am starting in the fall and getting the hang of Twitter in time for the launch of my new Twitter book club) but I will be hosting an end-of-summer readathon. Think beach blankets, books, snacks, and prizes on the lawn of the library. The library Training Department has some new programs this summer just for teens. This month teens are invited to learn how to create websites using Google Sites and in July they are offering a Powerpoint for Teens class. Rocky River teens-call the library and get registered!

Last week I took a mini-vacation from It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? so I have two weeks worth of reading to report. Sadly, the list is not very long. Where did the time go in May? Be sure to check out Book Journey, our host, and Teach Mentor Texts for a children’s/YA version.

 

Since I last posted (May 21) I finished:

A satisfying conclusion to the trilogy, but I suspect we haven’t seen the last of Carter and Sadie Kane!

This one was not for me. I had issues.

This is not the greatest series ever written, but I do find it entertaining. I am looking forward to the series conclusion after some surprising events in this installment. (Audio)

A surprisingly riveting courtroom drama with a shocking ending! There is definite teen appeal here, now that I think about it. Older teens looking for adult books may enjoy this one. (Audio)

Ah, I do love some British rom-coms. I enjoyed this one so much I immediately started the sequel.

Currently reading/listening to:

In the car: Red, White, and Blood by Christopher Farnsworth. I LOVE the President’s Vampire series. I also love Bronson Pinchot as the reader for the audio books. It’s hard to believe that the guy who was Balki on Perfect Strangers is the calm and menacing voice of Nathaniel Cade. It’s brilliant, really.

 

On Playaway: The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach. This one’s gotten lots of mixed reviews. I usually don’t have the patience for literary fiction, but I am enjoying the story so far.

I have three real, live, page turning paper books going right now:

I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga. It is so disturbingly good! I should be finished with this in the next day or two today. It’s impossible to put down.

Real Live Boyfriends by E. Lockhart. The last of the Ruby Oliver books and a nice, fun, not scary serial killer read. Balance.

Little Lady, Big Apple by Hester Browne. After a couple of nights of disturbing nightmares, I decided I needed something light to read before bed. The sequel to The Little Lady Agency fits the bill!

My e-book: The Opposite of Hallelujah by Anna Jarzab (October, 2012). I really enjoyed her debut novel, All Unquiet Things and was happy to get an arc from Netgalley.

At the top of my TBR list: Flock by Wendy Delsol, Drowned Cities by Paolo Bacigalupi, Insurgent by Veronica Roth, City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare,  The Power of Six by Pitticus Lore, and From Bad to Cursed by Kate Allender.

What are you reading?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

9 responses to “Mondays With Megan-Summer is Here! What Are You Reading?

  1. I just finished “The Serpent’s Shadow” too! I loved the Kanes and the balance between order and chaos apparent in Egyptian Mythology.

  2. These are all new to me books which is great since I love discovering new books. I hope you have a great reading week.

  3. I loved the Kane Chronicles and was sad to see it end though he does throw big hints in there about Norse mythology. I wonder if Riordan has plans to unite his series characters ever. Imagine a book with Percy, Annabeth, Carter, and Sadie…

    I want to read Defending Jacob but there are so many holds on it. I had an ARC but I gave it away to someone else. Oh, well. Maybe later this year.

    It is funny to think of Bronson Pinchot reading audiobooks. I grew up watching him on Perfect Strangers. I noticed he is narrating the audio of the book I am currently reading in print (The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom). I might have to check out the audio too. It could be a lot of fun.

    My library’s summer reading programs began today. I run the program for adults and I am still working on stuff. I did manage to get the online sign up posted at least but still have so much to do…

    Have a great week and good luck with all your summer reading prep!

  4. Red, White and Blood looks really intriguing! I can’t remember where I left off with the Ruby Oliver books but I think I’m getting towards the end. I was kind of at a happy point when I stopped so I’m hesitant to go on right away…I feel bad for Ruby and all of the drama she deals with. I just want her to be happy.

    I read the first in the Kane Chronicles but never kept up after that, maybe I will this summer!

  5. So glad to hear you enjoyed I Hunt Killers! I will definitely check it out now. Ruby Oliver is so much fun. I read the first of the Kane Chronicles twice, but still haven’t read beyond that. I need to, I really liked the first!

  6. This is the second time in 10 minutes that I have seen someone writing about Ruby Oliver books. I had never heard of them. Looks like something I should check out.

  7. Sarah is amazing 🙂

    I want to read Rick Riordan’s other two series. I loved Percy so much, and I was excited to start them, but somehow I keep putting them off. I Hunt Killers is another one I’ve seen mentioned and have been meaning to pick up.

  8. I agree with you about the Hush Hush series. It is entertaining but it doesn’t blow me away. Thanks for visiting my blog.

  9. I’m going to the summer reading program at my library! Own The Night seems like an intersting theme, too, can’t wait for it to start X)

Leave a Reply

