Top Ten Tueday-Freebie! 10 Books from 2011 I Really Meant to Read

It’s a Top Ten Tuesday Rewind! The bloggers at The Broke and the Bookish have asked us to revisit a past topic. I decided to personalize the Books I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read (that list is a mile long) and shorten it by focusing only on books that I really really meant to read in 2011 but never got around to. I should have my own little read-a-thon and read only books that keep getting bumped to the bottom of the TBR list in favor of all the shiny new books.

These are the YA Fiction books I missed:

1. Bitter End by Jennifer Brown. I thought The Hate List was great and I wanted to read this book about dating violence.

2. The Survival Kit by Donna Freitas. I want to read it. I don’t want to cry. This is the ongoing inner battle over this one.

3. Sweetly by Jackson Pearce. Sisters Red was so cool. How did I not immediately snatch up the next one? Also, the covers are amazing.

4. Trapped by Michael Northrop. Trapped in a high school during a blizzard? Sounds pretty scary to me!

I had every intention of reading these Science Fiction books:

5. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. Everyone read it. Everyone loved it. I missed it. Doh.

6. Across the Universe by Beth Revis. For goodness sake, I own this book! What is my problem?

7. Prized by Caragh O’Brien. I loved Birthmarked. I finished it and could not wait for the sequel. And yet…oh, for shame.

8. The Girl With the Steel Corset by Kady Cross. I do love a good steampunk novel and so many people loved this one in particular. I really dropped the ball here!

I missed this Historical Fiction (which isn’t surprising since HFic is not my go-to genre. But I do try, I promise!):

9. Deadly by Julie Chibbaro. Who doesn’t love a good Typhoid Mary book?

and This Mystery (again, not my go-to, but I do enjoy a mystery now and then):

10. The Girl is Murder by Katheryn Miller Haines. This 1940s mystery stars a female private eye and I like the cover. The sequel is coming out soon, so I need to get caught up.

For once I am not going to cheat and make my list longer. It’s too depressing. What book did you somehow miss reading when it was new? Which book on my list do I need to read immediately?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

6 responses to “Top Ten Tueday-Freebie! 10 Books from 2011 I Really Meant to Read

  1. Good idea for a list! I missed Bitter End too! I gotta read that one! I read Trapped, it’s very short so it doesn’t take long to read at all…

    I did Childhood Fav’s

  2. I haven’t read any of these, although half of them are on my tbr list & I’ve heard about most of them 🙂 I hope you’ll read them soon. And I’ve missed out on many books 🙂 I always do. One of the reasons for that is that I have this “problem” of wanting to re-read & re-reading my fav books, so instead of reading a new one, i re-read a fav 😉 It’s only June & I’ve already re-read 15 books & plan to re-read a lot more 😉

  3. Shatter Me is one I missed and really need to read, too! I’ve heard Across the Universe is great, as well. I took it out from the library a while back but then never read it. :/ Someone needs to start a read-a-thon so I can catch up on my reading! haha (:

    Btw, it’s so cool that you’re named after Meg March! That’s seriously awesome!

  4. ahhh! Please read Sweetly soon! I loved it even more than Sisters Red! The Survival Kit is a really nice read and Shatter Me is just written BEAUTIFULLY!

    Here’s my TTT

  5. “I want to read it. I don’t want to cry.” is always a problem for me! I completely understand. Everytime I pick up a John Greene novel for instance… though I still power through just for him!

  6. I have Across the Universe and The Girl in the Steel Corset and haven’t read them either! I keep meaning to but I just haven’t gotten to them yet!

Leave a Reply

