Mondays With Megan-Summer Throwdown and What Are You Reading?

Did you ever wonder who reads more, teachers or librarians? Well, we will finally learn the answer to that burning question! The gauntlet has been thrown and the summer throwdown was born! You can find all the details here, at Heise Reads and Recommends. I am all signed up and ready read!

What am I reading for the throwdown? Funny you should as because it’s time for another reading list check in. Thanks to Book Journey for hosting It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? and Teach Mentor Text for offering a children’s/YA version.

 

I finished: (these don’t count for the throwdown)

The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore. There is something about this series (start with I am Number Four) that compels me to continue. There are some pretty big flaws and yet, I need to know what happens next. I am totally ready for The Rise of Nine.

Real Live Boyfriends by E. Lockhart. This is the final installment of the Ruby Oliver series. It’s fun and charming and offers a satisfying end. Also, I feel relief at finishing a series. I need to keep chipping away at my incomplete series.

Locke & Key, vol 2: Head Games by Joe Hill. The mysteries of the keys continues to unfold as the Locke family continues to explore Lovecraft. Not as bloody as the first, but very creepy and suspenseful!

Gave up on: 

Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi. Despite the rave reviews, after 10 chapters I still didn’t care. I didn’t like any of the characters and I really disliked the names. While I admire the detailed world-building, I would have liked more explanation as to why. I tried, but this one just wasn’t for me.

Listening to: (this counts)

The Drowned Cities by Paolo Bacigalupi. This is a loose companion to Ship Breaker. I am excited to learn more about Tool and I am looking forward to getting to know Mahlia and Mouse, the main characters of this story.

The Technologists by Matthew Pearl. This one is a bit slow-moving, but I have read a few reviews that say it picks up after a slow start, so I am hanging in there.

Reading: (these totally count too!)

Flock by Wendy Delsol. I am so lucky to have an ARC of the final book in the Stork trilogy!

A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin. Confession time: I am a neglectful friend. I got my friend Kim started on this awesome series and then abandoned her. She is already on book 4, with no one but a battle-crazed guy at work to talk to about the series and I am putzing around with book 2. It is my solemn vow to get crackin’!

I think this will keep me busy for a while. What are you reading? Are you joining the throwdown? What are your predictions for the outcome?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

8 responses to “Mondays With Megan-Summer Throwdown and What Are You Reading?

  1. Mariam @Book-A-Holic

    Oh I am sad that you didn’t like Under the Never Sky :/ But I actually never heard of any of theses books except for Clash of Kingsumm I’ll have to check out some but thanks for sharing ❤
    xoxo, Mariam
    It’s Monday.. What are you reading

  2. I saw the author of Under the Never Sky and bought a copy to have signed, but I it just never pulled me in like I thought it would. It’s been bumped down to make room for more urgent reads, but I’m not giving up just yet!
    I’ll be reading Shipbreaker (eventually) for the #nerdPrintz challenge. Hope the companion is good!

  3. I need to read Real Life Boyfriends to finish the Ruby Oliver series too! I’m glad it ties up all the loose ends 🙂
    I love how you have a gave up on section- there’s alway some books that everyone loves that doesn’t connect with you!
    Have a lovely week
    P.S My Monday round up 🙂 http://tinyurl.com/bshtfse

  4. You week sounds wonderful – don’t you just hate it when you can’t get into a book? Ugh and it is even worse when everyone else likes it! 😦

    What are YOU reading @ The Brunette Librarian??

  5. I hate giving up on a book. But I had to do the same recently with Crossed (second in the Matched trilogy). You have a great week planned! Check mine out 🙂
    Books With Cass- Its Monday What are you Reading?

  6. I’m so glad you liked the end of the Ruby Oliver series!!! Yay. I need to read the last one now! 🙂

  7. Cannot wait to read The Drowned Cities, loved the first, perfect summer book to enjoy.

  8. You are doing a great job getting through some of those series. I am terrible about reading the first book and then deciding to read the rest some day…the day hasn’t arrived yet, though!

Leave a Reply

