Top Ten Tuesday-Characters Who Remind Me of Me

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, brought to you by The Broke and The Bookish, was a doozy. They have asked us to think of characters that remind us of ourselves or people we know. Well, guys, I swore I wouldn’t talk about this, but apparently someone is bound to drag it out of me. My life is so much like Cammie Morgan’s (Gallagher Girls by Ally Carter) that it is scary! Spy school, kidnapping, memory loss…it’s tough. But, all that saving the world business is totally worth it when I get to head home and have my aching feet rubbed by my super dreamy vampire boyfriend. Am right Bella? You know what I am talking about! Like I always tell my fashion-forward BFF Evie (Paranormalcy by Kiersten White), life is good but the whole time-travel thing can really mess up my weekend plans. Sigh. Happy now? You know my secrets.

But seriously. I really struggled with this one because 1. I love YA and I am so not a YA and 2. I like to read about people who are not like me. My life is not glamorous, dangerous, and/or full of paranormals. Thank god. However, there are a few characters that I share characteristics with, so here you go. It’s a short list.

Jessie need to find new friends. She takes a long look around…and finds the nerds. Sounds about right.

Ruby Oliver is much quirkier than I am, but am no stranger to anxiety. Hang in there Ruby!

I am so not science-y, but like Calpurnia, I am much more interested in learning than being a proper lady!

Oh, do I love a good prank and Frankie Landau-Banks is a Grade-A prankster. Also, I have a friend who calls me Frankie.

Nose in a book, bossy, and a really great friend? That’s me…and Hermione.

I wish that I had access to a secret library (the library I do have access to is pretty great, but a secret library? How cool is that?). Daniel’s desire to read everything by a particular author is a familiar feeling.

I am sure I’ll think of more later. Once I put my fire-breathing dragons to bed I will ponder it further. Until then, don’t tell my friends; they think I am just a thirty-something librarian who reads a lot, watches too much tv, is stuck in an endless battle of the wills with a dog, and loves to hang out with her family. I’d like to keep it that way!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

 

2 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-Characters Who Remind Me of Me

  1. Great list! Don’t we all wish we could be like Cammie? I loved Into the Wild Nerd Yonder and she is a character I found it easy to relate to. I wish I was more like Hermione too. I definitely wasn’t into rule breaking and I always loved books so I guess she and I do have some things in common. My sister would probably say I’m bossy too 🙂 Some days I think I am like Madam Pince, the mean and strict Hogwarts librarian 🙂

  2. I have yet to read Into the Wild Nerd Yonder, but it sounds an awful lot like my life. Me=nerd.

Leave a Reply

