Getting Ready for Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon

It’s that time of year again! Time for the Fall Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-thon! This year will be my third time participated and I think this will be my best one yet. I have learned a few things along the way that I hope will be helpful. First, I have learned that I am a slow reader. Last year I read two books and a graphic novel. Really? Well, this year I am aiming big. I am going for quantity here folks and I have a plan. I have a huge pile of books I have been meaning to read (for ages now) in every format available. I want options and I want to fly through the books. Here are my choices:

The one book I will absolutely read, start to finish, no exceptions or excuses:

Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by Lish McBride has been languishing on my stinkin’ TBR list for way to long. I am going to use it to get into the Halloween spirit!

Once I am finished with this one, I will start picking from my other choices.

Graphic Novels:

iZombie, vol. 2 by Chris Roberson
iZombie, vol. 3 by Chris Roberson
Of Lamb: poems by Matthea Harvey
American Vampire, vol. 4 by Scott Snyder
Friends With Boys by Faith Erin Hicks
Drawing From Memory by Allen Say

Paperbacks:

Pilgrims Don’t Wear Pink by Stephanie Kate Strohm
So You Want to Be a Wizard by Diane Duane
Iron Legends by Julie Kagawa

e-book:

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Novels:

Ten by Gretchen O’Neill
My Life Next Door by Huntly Fitzpatrick
The Emperor of Nihon-Ja by John Flanagan
The Interrogation of Gabriel James by Charlie Price
Insignia by S.J. Kincaid
My Sister Lives on the Mantlepiece by Annabel Pitcher
The Best Night of Your (Pathetic) Life by Tara Altebrando

Audio: (I am not starting anything new, just planning to make progress in my current books)

Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
Heading Out to Wonderful by Robert Goolrick

I am going to be extremely picky with my reads. If I am not hooked immediately I am moving on to the next book in the pile. My goal this year is to read at least 3 books and all my graphic novels.

Now that I have my books selected, it’s time to plan my snacks! I am thinking sweet and salty. And apples. Definitely apples.

Are you doing the Read-a-thon? Do you have a game plan? Thinking about joining, but can’t commit to the whole time? Don’t worry about it! Just sign up and participate as much as you can. The mini-challenges are a lot of fun and there are prizes. Everyone likes prizes.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

One response to “Getting Ready for Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon

  1. The TBR list is so long around here that I resolved to deal with it in my latest post: http://charleneoldham.com/2012/10/09/confessions-of-a-book-horder/
    Here are a few near the top:
    The Hobbitt
    Hope Dies Last
    How to Read a French Fry

Leave a Reply

